California correctional officer salaries by employer, 2025
28,969 people worked as correctional officers for 46 state departments, counties and cities in California in 2025. Those who worked the full year earned an average of $125,799, overtime included.
What is the average correctional officer salary in California?
Highest- and lowest-paying among the 40 employers with at least 10 full-year officers. The lists below include every employer with at least 5.
- Correctional officers
- 28,969
- 21,618 of them worked the full year
- Employers
- 46
- 46 with 5 or more officers, in 43 counties
- Median total pay
- $114,840
- the middle correctional officer: half earned more, half less
- Overtime
- $22,549
- average per full-year correctional officer
Employers also paid an average of $42,388 into pensions and $17,878 for health, dental and vision cover per full-year correctional officer, on top of wages.1
What stands out in California correctional officer pay
The state's prisons employ 76% of California's correctional officers.
22,112 of the 28,969 officer positions are at the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (CDCR) and Correctional Health Care Services, which share its officer titles. Full-year CDCR officers averaged $124,074; officers in county and city jails $131,657.1
Overtime adds an average of $22,549 a year.
Full-year correctional officers in California had an average base pay of $94,783 and an average total pay of $125,799. Overtime is uneven: the middle officer was paid $12,580, while some work far more and pull the average up.1
At most employers, officers earn more than the top of the official pay range.
We can compare range and total pay at 43 employers. At 37 of them, full-year officers earned more on average than the highest salary on the employer's officer pay scale. Their average base pay stays within the scale at 36 of those 37: the difference is overtime and other pay on top.1
Depending on the employer, average total pay runs from $80,004 to $207,897.
That's the range across the 40 employers with at least 10 full-year officers. Officers at the best-paying one earn more than twice what those at the lowest-paying one do.1
Correctional sergeants average $152,162, $26,363 more than officers.
Full-year correctional sergeants averaged $152,162, lieutenants averaged $171,563 and captains averaged $171,029. Those ranks are kept out of the officer figures on this page.1
Santa Clara, San Mateo and Monterey counties pay the most.
By county, the average total pay of correctional officers in county and city jails is highest in Santa Clara, San Mateo and Monterey counties ($207,897, $201,591 and $156,445). State prison officers aren't in county figures: the state department counts for the whole state.
Which California employers pay correctional officers the most?
By average total pay of full-year officers, among employers with at least 5 of them.
Highest average total pay
- Santa Clara CountyCounty jails
629 full-year officers$207,897 - San Mateo CountyCounty jails
149 full-year officers$201,591 - Monterey CountyCounty jails
138 full-year officers$156,445 - Santa Barbara CountyCounty jails
156 full-year officers$156,036 - Sonoma CountyCounty jails
130 full-year officers$148,808 - Napa CountyCounty jails
55 full-year officers$147,709 - Santa Cruz CountyCounty jails
80 full-year officers$139,964 - San Joaquin CountyCounty jails
187 full-year officers$137,009 - San Diego CountyCounty jails
875 full-year officers$133,298 - California Department of Corrections and RehabilitationState department, state prisons
15,779 full-year officers$124,074
California average, $125,799
Highest correctional officer starting salaries in California: every employer compared
Compare correctional officer pay at every California employer
Official pay range across each employer's correctional officer titles, and what full-year officers earned. Sergeants and higher ranks aren't in these figures. Click a column to sort it.
Showing 1 to 25 of 46 employers, highest average total pay first.
| Santa Clara CountySanta Clara County | Santa Clara | $207,897 | $49,577 | $117,865 to $143,275 | 717 | 2.7% at 57 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| San Mateo CountySan Mateo County | San Mateo | $201,591 | $62,260 | $101,442 to $126,818 | 173 | 2.7% at 57 |
| Monterey CountyMonterey County | Monterey | $156,445 | $36,068 | $94,110 to $128,534 | 169 | 2.7% at 57 |
| Santa Barbara CountySanta Barbara County | Santa Barbara | $156,036 | $49,928 | $90,865 to $115,150 | 213 | 2.7% at 57 |
| Sonoma CountySonoma County | Sonoma | $148,808 | $25,277 | $82,379 to $125,707 | 188 | Not reported |
| Napa CountyNapa County | Napa | $147,709 | $27,410 | $91,709 to $119,201 | 76 | 2% at 62 |
| Santa Cruz CountySanta Cruz County | Santa Cruz | $139,964 | $30,310 | $81,661 to $109,221 | 123 | 2.7% at 57 |
| San Joaquin CountySan Joaquin County | San Joaquin | $137,009 | $44,934 | $71,242 to $86,595 | 235 | 2.7% at 57 |
| San Diego CountySan Diego County | San Diego | $133,298 | $30,236 | $63,803 to $114,434 | 972 | 2.5% at 57 |
| California Department of Corrections and RehabilitationStatewide | Statewide | $124,074 | $20,222 | $53,748 to $110,436 | 21,115 | Not reported |
| California Correctional Health Care ServicesStatewide | Statewide | $122,852 | $21,750 | $66,120 to $110,436 | 997 | Not reported |
| Solano CountySolano County | Solano | $121,493 | $15,260 | $65,493 to $99,461 | 271 | 2% at 57 |
| Santa AnaOrange County | Orange | $120,002 | $17,018 | $80,508 to $97,872 | 60 | 2% at 62 |
| Placer CountyPlacer County | Placer | $118,046 | $15,141 | $72,530 to $99,861 | 137 | 2.7% at 57 |
| San Benito CountySan Benito County | San Benito | $117,476 | $30,663 | $64,251 to $94,986 | 24 | 2.7% at 57 |
| Yolo CountyYolo County | Yolo | $117,379 | $20,367 | $69,805 to $91,042 | 107 | 2.7% at 57 |
| Kern CountyKern County | Kern | $115,670 | $23,657 | $75,335 to $99,491 | 297 | 2% at 50 |
| San Luis Obispo CountySan Luis Obispo County | San Luis Obispo | $114,892 | $22,356 | $82,056 to $104,707 | 116 | 2.7% at 57 |
| Butte CountyButte County | Butte | $112,977 | $27,760 | $62,254 to $87,672 | 83 | 2.7% at 57 |
| Inyo CountyInyo County | Inyo | $112,503 | $14,746 | $57,914 to $92,410 | 21 | 2% at 62 |
| Nevada CountyNevada County | Nevada | $109,220 | $28,060 | $61,809 to $83,371 | 56 | 2.7% at 57 |
| Amador CountyAmador County | Amador | $109,074 | $22,324 | $59,051 to $79,643 | 25 | 2% at 57 |
| Fresno CountyFresno County | Fresno | $106,340 | $20,963 | $55,458 to $92,872 | 534 | 2.5% at 55 |
| Shasta CountyShasta County | Shasta | $104,112 | $27,990 | $56,726 to $76,014 | 52 | 2% at 57 |
| Mendocino CountyMendocino County | Mendocino | $104,087 | $30,192 | $59,883 to $85,155 | 49 | 2.7% at 57 |
No employer matches. Clear the search or pick another county or size.
"Fewer than 5": fewer than 5 officers worked the full year, too few for an average. "Not reported": the employer reported no pay range, so we can't tell who worked the full year. Employers with fewer than 5 officers aren't listed.
California correctional officer pay by rank: officer, sergeant, lieutenant and captain
Every state prison and county jail employer in California, 2025. Each rank leads to its own page. Range: the middle reported bottom and top of each rank's official range. Pay: full-year staff, overtime included.1
| Rank | Positions | Official range | Average total pay | Average overtime |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Officers | 28,969 | Varies by employer | $125,799 | $22,549 |
| Sergeants | 3,320 | $104,352 to $131,220 | $152,162 | $27,187 |
| Lieutenants | 1,339 | $117,204 to $147,480 | $171,563 | $26,634 |
| Captains | 301 | $150,468 to $172,200 | $171,029 | $1,111 |
Which California jobs count as correctional officers here, and which don't?
The State Controller's files list every public job by title. We decided each custody title by hand, from its name and department.
Counted as correctional officers
- Correctional officers in state prisons. The Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation's Correctional Officer, in each of its pay ranges, including officers assigned to Correctional Health Care Services.
- Custody officers in county jails. Correctional Officer, Correctional Deputy, Sheriff's Correctional Officer, Custody Deputy and Detentions Deputy, as each county names the job, at every level.
- Jail deputies. Where a county staffs its jails with deputy sheriffs whose title names the jail assignment (San Diego, Monterey, Shasta, Lake and Tuolumne counties, for example), those deputies count as its correctional officers, and the county's page says so. San Diego's title, Deputy Sheriff - Detentions/Court Services, covers court security too.
- Correctional officers at city-run jails. Santa Ana and Taft report Correctional Officer titles.
Shown separately or left out
- Sergeants, lieutenants and captains. In the pay by rank table above, each with its own page, not in the officer figures.
- Deputy sheriffs whose title doesn't name the jail. A plain Deputy Sheriff title doesn't say whether the deputy works in the jail or on patrol, so those deputies aren't counted. Los Angeles County, for example, reports no correctional officer or jail deputy titles, so it has no page here.
- Probation and juvenile corrections officers. They work for county probation departments, in juvenile halls and camps.
- Custody assistants and specialists, and city police jailers. Jail support titles and police department jails.
- Academy cadets, extra-help and temporary officers, wardens and other prison staff. Counselors, nurses, cooks, teachers and trades.
Every California employer with a correctional officer pay page, by county
46 employers with at least 5 officers. Open a county to see its employers. Employers without an average had fewer than 5 full-year officers, or their records don't show who worked the full year. The map shades each county by the average total pay of full-year officers across its employers; click a county to open its list.
San Joaquin County
1 employer, $137,009- San Joaquin County$137,009
San Luis Obispo County
1 employer, $114,892- San Luis Obispo County$114,892
Santa Barbara County
1 employer, $156,036- Santa Barbara County$156,036
Santa Clara County
1 employer, $207,897- Santa Clara County$207,897
Statewide
2 employers
Questions about correctional officer pay in California
How much do correctional officers make in California?
Full-year correctional officers in California's state prisons and county jails earned an average of $125,799 in 2025, including an average of $22,549 in overtime. The middle officer earned $114,840: half earned more, half less.
How much does a CDCR correctional officer make?
Full-year correctional officers at the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation averaged $124,074 in 2025, overtime included: $20,222 of it overtime. 21,115 people held a CDCR officer title during the year.
Which California employer pays correctional officers the most?
Among employers with at least 10 full-year officers, Santa Clara County has the highest average total pay, $207,897, followed by San Mateo County ($201,591) and Monterey County ($156,445).
How much do correctional sergeants and lieutenants make in California?
Full-year correctional sergeants averaged $152,162, lieutenants averaged $171,563 and captains averaged $171,029 in 2025, against $125,799 for officers.
Which California employers have the most correctional officers?
California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (21,115 officers), Riverside County (1,095) and California Correctional Health Care Services (997), counting officer positions held in 2025, without sergeants and higher ranks.
Sources for the California correctional officer figures
Every person who held a correctional officer position at any point in 2025 counts toward the headcount. Pay figures use only people who worked roughly the full year: those whose regular pay reached at least 90% of the bottom of their official range. Total pay is gross wages before tax, including overtime, lump sums and other pay. Every figure covers at least 5 people.
- State Controller's Office, Government Compensation in California, 2025: positions, official pay ranges, wages, pension formulas and employer contributions as reported by each city, county and special district.