Georgia librarian salaries by employer, 2025
2,385 people worked as librarians for 178 school districts and the Fulton County Library System in Georgia in 2025 (the fiscal year from July 2024 for school districts, the calendar year for Fulton County). Those who worked the full year earned an average of $82,713.
What is the average librarian salary in Georgia?
Lowest-paying employer
$61,458
Muscogee County School District
School district in Muscogee County, fiscal 2025
Highest- and lowest-paying among the 49 employers with at least 10 full-year librarians. The lists below include every employer with at least 5.
- Librarians
- 2,385
- 1,995 of them worked the full year
- Employers
- 178
- 100 with 5 or more librarians, in 90 counties
- Median total pay
- $82,522
- the middle librarian: half earned more, half less
- Overtime
- In total pay
- Georgia's file doesn't list it separately
What stands out in Georgia librarian pay
School library media specialists average $83,268.
2,272 people worked as library media specialists in Georgia's public schools; the 1,905 who worked the whole school year averaged $83,268 in total pay, against $70,957 for librarians at the Fulton County Library System.1
Depending on the employer, average total pay runs from $61,458 to $111,130.
That's the range across the 49 employers with at least 10 full-year librarians. Atlanta Public Schools pays the most.1,2
Library assistants at the Fulton County Library System average $43,076.
154 people held a Library Associate or Library Assistant title there during the year. They're counted on their own, outside every librarian figure.2
Which Georgia employers pay librarians the most?
By average total pay of full-year librarians, among employers with at least 5 of them.
Highest average total pay
- Atlanta Public SchoolsSchool district in Fulton County, fiscal 2025
53 full-year librarians$111,130 - Bartow County School DistrictSchool district in Bartow County, fiscal 2025
19 full-year librarians$101,712 - Cobb County School DistrictSchool district in Cobb County, fiscal 2025
104 full-year librarians$100,475 - Clayton County School DistrictSchool district in Clayton County, fiscal 2025
56 full-year librarians$96,550 - Fulton County SchoolsSchool district in Fulton County, fiscal 2025
54 full-year librarians$95,667 - Houston County School DistrictSchool district in Houston County, fiscal 2025
39 full-year librarians$93,869 - DeKalb County School DistrictSchool district in DeKalb County, fiscal 2025
112 full-year librarians$92,667 - Fayette County School DistrictSchool district in Fayette County, fiscal 2025
24 full-year librarians$90,241 - Walton County School DistrictSchool district in Walton County, fiscal 2025
14 full-year librarians$89,866 - Buford City School DistrictSchool district in Gwinnett County, fiscal 2025
5 full-year librarians$89,513
Georgia average, $82,713
Highest librarian salaries in Georgia: the top employers by total pay and by county
Compare librarian pay at every Georgia employer
What full-year librarians earned at each employer, and the official range where the employer publishes one. Library assistants aren't in these figures. Click a column to sort it.
Showing 1 to 25 of 100 employers, highest average total pay first.
| Atlanta Public SchoolsFulton County | Fulton | $111,130 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 65 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bartow County School DistrictBartow County | Bartow | $101,712 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 20 |
| Cobb County School DistrictCobb County | Cobb | $100,475 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 120 |
| Clayton County School DistrictClayton County | Clayton | $96,550 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 69 |
| Fulton County SchoolsFulton County | Fulton | $95,667 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 76 |
| Houston County School DistrictHouston County | Houston | $93,869 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 41 |
| DeKalb County School DistrictDeKalb County | DeKalb | $92,667 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 135 |
| Fayette County School DistrictFayette County | Fayette | $90,241 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 24 |
| Walton County School DistrictWalton County | Walton | $89,866 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 16 |
| Buford City School DistrictGwinnett County | Gwinnett | $89,513 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 5 |
| Paulding County School DistrictPaulding County | Paulding | $88,997 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 37 |
| Cherokee County School DistrictCherokee County | Cherokee | $88,604 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 42 |
| Douglas County School DistrictDouglas County | Douglas | $88,332 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 35 |
| Marietta City School DistrictCobb County | Cobb | $87,444 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 14 |
| Gwinnett County Public SchoolsGwinnett County | Gwinnett | $87,399 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 146 |
| Griffin-Spalding County School DistrictSpalding County | Spalding | $86,910 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 18 |
| Coweta County School DistrictCoweta County | Coweta | $86,617 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 35 |
| Liberty County School DistrictLiberty County | Liberty | $86,205 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 15 |
| Newton County School DistrictNewton County | Newton | $85,344 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 24 |
| Henry County School DistrictHenry County | Henry | $84,879 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 55 |
| Bibb County School DistrictBibb County | Bibb | $84,525 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 34 |
| Dawson County School DistrictDawson County | Dawson | $84,306 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 7 |
| Pickens County School DistrictPickens County | Pickens | $84,098 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 7 |
| Hall County School DistrictHall County | Hall | $83,991 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 37 |
| Jackson County School DistrictJackson County | Jackson | $83,831 | fiscal 2025 | School library | Not reported | 10 |
No employer matches. Clear the search or pick another county or size.
"Fewer than 5": fewer than 5 librarians worked the full year, too few for an average. Employers with fewer than 5 librarians aren't listed.
How reliable are the Georgia librarian figures?
Pay here is total pay.
Open Georgia's file has one pay figure per person: everything the employer paid them in the year, so supplements and any overtime are in it and base pay can't be shown on its own. Fulton County's payroll does split base pay and overtime, on its own page.1
Who worked the full year is our best estimate.
The file has no hours or start dates. We count someone as full-year when the same employer also paid them the year before, they were paid at least 90% as much, and at least a full year at the federal minimum wage. Two people with the same name at one employer can't be told apart, so neither counts.1
The state's file isn't audited.
The Department of Audits and Accounts compiles the file from what each employer reports and says it has not audited or reviewed it.1
There are no official pay ranges in the state file.
It lists each person's title and pay, not the employer's pay scale, so these pages show what librarians were paid, not what a job can pay. Fulton County publishes ranges, shown on its page.
Titles were sorted by hand.
School librarians are the state's Librarian/Media Specialist job title; school library aides and media directors aren't counted.
Georgia librarian and library assistant salaries
Every Georgia school district and the Fulton County Library System, 2025 (the fiscal year from July 2024 for school districts, the calendar year for Fulton County). Only Fulton County publishes pay ranges. Pay: full-year staff.1,2
| Library staff | Positions | Official range | Average total pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Librarians | 2,385 | Varies by employer | $82,713 |
| Library assistants | 154 | $41,545 to $80,493 | $43,076 |
Do school librarians earn more than public librarians in Georgia?
Librarians by where they work: school library media specialists in every school district, and the Fulton County Library System's librarians. Pay: average total pay of full-year librarians.1,2
| Where they work | Positions | Full year | Average total pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| School library | 2,272 | 1,905 | $83,268 |
| Public library | 113 | 90 | $70,957 |
Which Georgia jobs count as librarians here, and which don't?
These figures cover library media specialists in every Georgia public school district, from Open Georgia, and the Fulton County Library System, from Fulton County's payroll. We decided each title by hand.
Counted
- School library media specialists. The state's Librarian/Media Specialist job title, in every school district.
- Librarians at the Fulton County Library System. Librarian I, Librarian II, Senior Librarian and Principal Librarian.
Shown separately or left out
- Library assistants and associates. Fulton County's are a group of their own, outside the librarian figures. School library aides aren't counted.
- Library managers, supervisors and district media directors.
- University and college librarians, and other Georgia public library systems. Not covered yet.
Every Georgia employer with a librarian pay page, by county
100 employers with at least 5 librarians. Open a county to see its employers. Employers without an average had fewer than 5 full-year librarians, or their records don't show who worked the full year.
Appling County
1 employer, $78,706Baldwin County
1 employer- Baldwin County School DistrictFewer than 5
Barrow County
1 employer, $77,841Bartow County
1 employer, $101,712- Bartow County School District$101,712
Berrien County
1 employer- Berrien County School DistrictFewer than 5
Bibb County
1 employer, $84,525- Bibb County School District$84,525
Brantley County
1 employer, $76,615Bryan County
1 employer, $78,850- Bryan County School District$78,850
Bulloch County
1 employer, $82,531Burke County
1 employer- Burke County School DistrictFewer than 5
Butts County
1 employer, $74,368- Butts County School District$74,368
Camden County
1 employer, $71,827Carroll County
1 employer, $83,066Catoosa County
1 employer, $67,713Chatham County
1 employer, $77,681Chattooga County
1 employer- Chattooga County School DistrictFewer than 5
Cherokee County
1 employer, $88,604Clarke County
1 employer, $78,002Clayton County
1 employer, $96,550Cobb County
2 employers, $99,229- Cobb County School District$100,475
- Marietta City School District$87,444
Coffee County
1 employer, $73,451Colquitt County
1 employer- Colquitt County School DistrictFewer than 5
Columbia County
1 employer, $80,469Coweta County
1 employer, $86,617Crisp County
1 employer, $76,343- Crisp County School District$76,343
Dawson County
1 employer, $84,306DeKalb County
2 employers, $92,061Dougherty County
1 employer, $72,926Douglas County
1 employer, $88,332Effingham County
1 employer, $80,190Emanuel County
1 employer, $67,619Fannin County
1 employer, $82,509Fayette County
1 employer, $90,241Floyd County
2 employers, $77,555- Floyd County School District$75,820
- Rome City School District$80,735
Forsyth County
1 employer, $81,834Franklin County
1 employer, $72,792Fulton County
3 employers, $88,538- Atlanta Public Schools$111,130
- Fulton County$70,957
- Fulton County Schools$95,667
Gilmer County
1 employer, $80,008Glynn County
1 employer, $74,485- Glynn County School District$74,485
Gordon County
1 employer, $78,356Grady County
1 employer, $68,696- Grady County School District$68,696
Gwinnett County
2 employers, $87,477Habersham County
1 employer, $76,948Hall County
2 employers, $83,796Haralson County
2 employers, $80,331- Bremen City School DistrictFewer than 5
- Haralson County School District$79,428
Harris County
1 employer, $78,827Hart County
1 employer- Hart County School DistrictFewer than 5
Henry County
1 employer, $84,879- Henry County School District$84,879
Houston County
1 employer, $93,869Jackson County
1 employer, $80,438Jefferson County
1 employer- Jefferson County School DistrictFewer than 5
Jones County
1 employer, $72,667- Jones County School District$72,667
Lamar County
1 employer- Lamar County School DistrictFewer than 5
Laurens County
1 employer, $75,618Lee County
1 employer, $70,631- Lee County School District$70,631
Liberty County
1 employer, $86,205Long County
1 employer, $76,719- Long County School District$76,719
Lowndes County
2 employers, $73,844Lumpkin County
1 employer- Lumpkin County School DistrictFewer than 5
Madison County
1 employer, $77,150McDuffie County
1 employer- McDuffie County School DistrictFewer than 5
Monroe County
1 employer, $77,723Morgan County
1 employer- Morgan County School DistrictFewer than 5
Murray County
1 employer, $81,012Muscogee County
1 employer, $61,458Newton County
1 employer, $85,344Oconee County
1 employer, $78,057Paulding County
1 employer, $88,997Peach County
1 employer- Peach County School DistrictFewer than 5
Pickens County
1 employer, $84,098Pierce County
1 employer, $76,653Pike County
1 employer- Pike County School DistrictFewer than 5
Polk County
1 employer, $80,157- Polk School District$80,157
Putnam County
1 employer, $79,247Richmond County
1 employer, $69,026Rockdale County
1 employer, $83,685Spalding County
1 employer, $86,910Stephens County
1 employer, $69,467Sumter County
1 employer- Sumter County School DistrictFewer than 5
Tattnall County
1 employer, $71,954Thomas County
1 employer, $71,191Tift County
1 employer, $76,009- Tift County School District$76,009
Toombs County
1 employer, $78,501Troup County
1 employer, $71,251- Troup County School District$71,251
Walker County
1 employer, $74,534Walton County
1 employer, $89,890Ware County
1 employer, $78,812- Ware County School District$78,812
Wayne County
1 employer, $74,880- Wayne County School District$74,880
White County
1 employer, $70,139- White County School District$70,139
Whitfield County
2 employers, $75,145
Questions about librarian pay in Georgia
How much do librarians make in Georgia?
Full-year librarians at Georgia's school districts and the Fulton County Library System earned an average of $82,713 in total pay in 2025. The middle librarian earned $82,522: half earned more, half less.
How much does a school media specialist make in Georgia?
Library media specialists who worked the whole 2024-25 school year in Georgia's public school districts averaged $83,268 in total pay, supplements included.
How much do Fulton County librarians make?
Full-year librarians at the Fulton County Library System averaged $70,957 in 2025. The county's pay range for Librarian I starts at $55,674.
Which Georgia employer pays librarians the most?
Among employers with at least 10 full-year librarians, Atlanta Public Schools has the highest average total pay, $111,130, followed by Bartow County School District ($101,712) and Cobb County School District ($100,475).
Sources for the Georgia librarian figures
Every person who held a librarian position at any point in 2025 (the fiscal year from July 2024 for school districts, the calendar year for Fulton County) counts toward the headcount. School districts: pay figures use only people the same employer also paid in fiscal 2024 who were paid at least 90% as much in fiscal 2025, and at least a full year at the federal minimum wage. Open Georgia's file has no hours or start dates, so this is the closest sign of a full year. The Department of Audits and Accounts compiles the file and says it has not audited or reviewed it. Fulton County: pay figures use only people who were hired before 2025, were on the county's payroll in 2024 too, were still employed at the end of 2025 and whose base pay reached at least 90% of the bottom of their pay range. Total pay is gross wages before tax, including overtime, lump sums and other pay. Every figure covers at least 5 people.
- Georgia Department of Audits and Accounts, Open Georgia, salaries and travel, fiscal years 2024 and 2025: title and total pay of every school district and state agency employee, July 2024 to June 2025, and the year before to see who worked the full year.
- Fulton County Government (GA), Payroll Public Dataset, Share Fulton (CC BY 4.0): title, pay range, base, overtime and total pay and hire date of every Fulton County employee in 2025, and in 2024 to see who was already employed.