California 911 dispatcher salaries by employer, 2025
7,638 people worked as 911 dispatchers for 299 cities, counties and regional agencies in California in 2025. Those who worked the full year took home a median of $120,908, overtime included.
Median take-home, full-year California 911 dispatchers1
$120,908
median base $89,484 · median overtime $16,524
Highest-paying employer
$224,472
San Ramon Valley Fire Protection
Fire protection district in Contra Costa County
- 911 dispatchers
- 7,638
- 4,948 of them worked the full year
- Employers
- 299
- 280 with 5 or more dispatchers, in 53 counties
- Employer pension contribution
- $11,482
- median per full-year dispatcher
- Health, dental and vision
- $14,824
- median paid by the employer per year
What stands out in California 911 dispatcher pay
At most employers, dispatchers take home more than the top of the official pay range.
We can compare range and take-home at 236 employers. At 154 of them, the median full-year dispatcher took home more than the highest salary on the employer's dispatcher pay scale. Their base pay stays within the scale at 151 of those 154: the difference is overtime and other pay on top.1
Overtime adds a median of $16,524 a year.
Full-year dispatchers in California had a median base pay of $89,484 and a median take-home of $120,908. The three don't add up: take-home also includes lump sums and other pay, and each figure is the middle value of its own list, not one person's pay.
Depending on the employer, median take-home runs from $53,722 to $224,472.
That's the full range across the 236 employers with at least 5 full-year dispatchers. The best-paying employer's dispatchers take home more than four times the lowest-paying one's.
Supervisors take home almost twice as much as entry-level dispatchers.
Full-year dispatchers in entry-level titles (level I) took home a median of $81,080; dispatch supervisors $152,349.
The three best-paying counties are all in the Bay Area.
By county, the median take-home is highest in San Francisco, San Mateo and Santa Clara counties ($183,150, $172,931, $168,647), all part of the Bay Area2.
Most employers offer a pension of 2% at 62.
224 of the 280 employers report 2% at 62 as their dispatchers' most common pension formula.
Which California employers pay 911 dispatchers the most?
By median take-home of full-year dispatchers, among employers with at least 5 of them.
Highest median take-home
- San Ramon Valley Fire ProtectionFire protection district in Contra Costa County$224,472
- Mountain ViewCity in Santa Clara County$214,918
- SunnyvaleCity in Santa Clara County$207,046
- Santa ClaraCity in Santa Clara County$203,496
- RichmondCity in Contra Costa County$201,950
- Orange County Fire AuthorityJoint powers authority in Orange County$201,290
- Palo AltoCity in Santa Clara County$192,854
- San MateoCity in San Mateo County$191,550
- San Mateo CountyCounty government$188,077
- San FranciscoCity in San Francisco County$183,150
Compare 911 dispatcher pay at every California employer
Official pay range across each employer's dispatcher titles, and what full-year dispatchers took home. Click a column to sort it.
Showing 1 to 25 of 280 employers, highest median take-home first.
| San Ramon Valley Fire ProtectionContra Costa County | Contra Costa | $224,472 | $51,394 | $104,716 | $155,583 | 15 | 2.5% at 67 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mountain ViewSanta Clara County | Santa Clara | $214,918 | $56,162 | $117,946 | $157,673 | 12 | 2% at 62 |
| SunnyvaleSanta Clara County | Santa Clara | $207,046 | $41,864 | $105,472 | $170,670 | 27 | 2% at 62 |
| Santa ClaraSanta Clara County | Santa Clara | $203,496 | $30,079 | $108,366 | $173,840 | 27 | 2% at 62 |
| RichmondContra Costa County | Contra Costa | $201,950 | $79,268 | $75,092 | $131,521 | 17 | 2% at 62 |
| Orange County Fire AuthorityOrange County | Orange | $201,290 | $87,701 | $68,155 | $102,315 | 42 | 2.5% at 67 |
| Palo AltoSanta Clara County | Santa Clara | $192,854 | $38,381 | $109,441 | $256,942 | 19 | 2% at 62 |
| San MateoSan Mateo County | San Mateo | $191,550 | $58,375 | $49,478 | $157,186 | 20 | 2% at 62 |
| San Mateo CountySan Mateo County | San Mateo | $188,077 | $35,264 | $96,179 | $175,510 | 74 | 2% at 62 |
| San FranciscoSan Francisco County | San Francisco | $183,150 | $38,354 | $79,196 | $160,368 | 231 | 2.7% at 58 |
| Redondo BeachLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $180,919 | $81,740 | $58,380 | $111,756 | 13 | 2% at 62 |
| Costa MesaOrange County | Orange | $180,477 | $45,024 | $73,932 | $143,496 | 21 | 2% at 62 |
| BurlingameSan Mateo County | San Mateo | $178,373 | $65,725 | $72,800 | $111,291 | 12 | 2.5% at 55 |
| Santa Clara CountySanta Clara County | Santa Clara | $176,159 | $17,765 | $101,758 | $187,410 | 108 | 2% at 62 |
| Ventura CountyVentura County | Ventura | $175,810 | $32,143 | $73,290 | $137,434 | 40 | 2% at 62 |
| Los AltosSanta Clara County | Santa Clara | $175,378 | $14,778 | $114,763 | $165,865 | 12 | 2.7% at 55 |
| FremontAlameda County | Alameda | $174,303 | $49,121 | $100,956 | $122,712 | 26 | 2% at 62 |
| San BrunoSan Mateo County | San Mateo | $170,993 | $43,355 | $87,793 | $162,225 | 14 | 2% at 62 |
| LivermoreAlameda County | Alameda | $170,380 | $33,992 | $88,483 | $135,440 | 17 | 2.7% at 55 |
| NewarkAlameda County | Alameda | $169,703 | $23,215 | $52,094 | $146,390 | 15 | 2% at 62 |
| San Diego Unified Port DistrictSan Diego County | San Diego | $169,301 | $45,883 | $73,008 | $143,874 | 10 | 3% at 60 |
| AthertonSan Mateo County | San Mateo | $166,335 | $27,427 | $101,633 | $166,961 | 7 | 2% at 62 |
| Contra Costa CountyContra Costa County | Contra Costa | $164,308 | $33,102 | $87,578 | $142,209 | 84 | 2.5% at 67 |
| CampbellSanta Clara County | Santa Clara | $164,061 | $16,537 | $108,514 | $152,651 | 12 | 2.5% at 55 |
| Alameda CountyAlameda County | Alameda | $163,773 | $34,070 | $80,142 | $138,715 | 62 | 2% at 62 |
| Marin CountyMarin County | Marin | $163,592 | $60,319 | $52,251 | $129,563 | 55 | 2% at 62 |
| EmeryvilleAlameda County | Alameda | $163,120 | $30,569 | $97,824 | $118,920 | 11 | 2% at 62 |
| Beverly HillsLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $161,322 | $43,230 | $81,701 | $164,628 | 18 | 2.5% at 55 |
| NapaNapa County | Napa | $159,142 | $42,725 | $76,702 | $122,268 | 28 | 2% at 62 |
| OaklandAlameda County | Alameda | $156,935 | $31,213 | $93,619 | $146,390 | 118 | 2% at 62 |
| Monterey CountyMonterey County | Monterey | $156,114 | $43,917 | $67,242 | $118,487 | 68 | 2% at 62 |
| San JoseSanta Clara County | Santa Clara | $155,969 | $14,066 | $98,564 | $178,280 | 107 | 2% at 62 |
| Foster CitySan Mateo County | San Mateo | $155,554 | $15,937 | $105,712 | $154,653 | 8 | 2.7% at 55 |
| HaywardAlameda County | Alameda | $153,773 | $33,499 | $89,378 | $150,530 | 42 | 2% at 62 |
| ConcordContra Costa County | Contra Costa | $153,149 | $28,457 | $78,030 | $133,020 | 18 | 2% at 62 |
| MilpitasSanta Clara County | Santa Clara | $153,039 | $2,486 | $114,890 | $161,289 | 14 | 2% at 60 |
| Laguna BeachOrange County | Orange | $152,835 | $37,086 | $75,390 | $119,482 | 15 | 2% at 62 |
| Los GatosSanta Clara County | Santa Clara | $152,764 | $14,997 | $104,978 | $170,518 | 11 | 2% at 62 |
| IrvineOrange County | Orange | $152,535 | $19,273 | $63,565 | $130,541 | 23 | 2% at 62 |
| MartinezContra Costa County | Contra Costa | $152,288 | $19,950 | $94,249 | $142,408 | 10 | 2% at 62 |
| TorranceLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $152,098 | $53,490 | $62,629 | $113,942 | 25 | 2% at 62 |
| Morgan HillSanta Clara County | Santa Clara | $151,915 | $7,188 | $100,982 | $152,629 | 11 | 2% at 62 |
| Sonoma CountySonoma County | Sonoma | $151,692 | $32,348 | $76,618 | $129,527 | 25 | Not reported |
| Buena ParkOrange County | Orange | $151,536 | $31,998 | $55,806 | $134,243 | 15 | 2% at 62 |
| StocktonSan Joaquin County | San Joaquin | $151,300 | $38,874 | $56,563 | $121,298 | 73 | 2% at 55 |
| Newport BeachOrange County | Orange | $150,879 | $26,459 | $71,305 | $115,334 | 15 | 2% at 62 |
| Santa MariaSanta Barbara County | Santa Barbara | $149,624 | $33,072 | $65,395 | $112,703 | 19 | 2.7% at 55 |
| Huntington BeachOrange County | Orange | $148,514 | $33,812 | $79,498 | $112,736 | 25 | 2% at 62 |
| South San FranciscoSan Mateo County | San Mateo | $147,832 | $17,416 | $96,221 | $138,008 | 20 | 2% at 62 |
| BrentwoodContra Costa County | Contra Costa | $145,504 | $21,474 | $82,516 | $134,890 | 16 | 2% at 62 |
| CovinaLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $144,421 | $51,127 | $61,312 | $98,197 | 14 | 2% at 62 |
| East Bay Regional Park DistrictAlameda County | Alameda | $143,906 | $9,559 | $83,782 | $123,115 | 18 | 2% at 62 |
| San LeandroAlameda County | Alameda | $142,938 | $23,098 | $92,100 | $150,024 | 20 | 2% at 62 |
| GilroySanta Clara County | Santa Clara | $140,807 | $11,615 | $84,354 | $137,800 | 15 | 2% at 62 |
| FairfieldSolano County | Solano | $140,804 | $17,078 | $76,505 | $146,742 | 23 | 2% at 62 |
| PleasantonAlameda County | Alameda | $140,180 | $10,560 | $91,523 | $128,780 | 15 | 2.7% at 55 |
| South Bay Regional Public Communications AuthorityLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $139,854 | $37,706 | $74,443 | $126,447 | 58 | 2% at 62 |
| AntiochContra Costa County | Contra Costa | $139,110 | $21,095 | $81,024 | $116,316 | 17 | 2.7% at 55 |
| Santa MonicaLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $136,740 | $44,726 | $78,336 | $163,416 | 31 | 2% at 62 |
| El MonteLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $135,845 | $20,169 | $68,398 | $99,130 | 17 | 2% at 55 |
| PinoleContra Costa County | Contra Costa | $135,657 | $16,232 | $84,520 | $109,973 | 13 | 2% at 62 |
| Suisun CitySolano County | Solano | $135,027 | $22,563 | $71,323 | $104,915 | 13 | 2% at 62 |
| OxnardVentura County | Ventura | $134,986 | $17,077 | $65,538 | $132,711 | 27 | 2% at 62 |
| VacavilleSolano County | Solano | $134,570 | $8,394 | $79,804 | $138,487 | 25 | 2% at 62 |
| El CajonSan Diego County | San Diego | $134,184 | $25,627 | $50,200 | $115,152 | 21 | 2% at 62 |
| RiversideRiverside County | Riverside | $133,297 | $30,805 | $62,484 | $115,188 | 58 | 2% at 62 |
| Placer CountyPlacer County | Placer | $133,187 | $35,268 | $57,616 | $119,933 | 28 | 2% at 62 |
| Pleasant HillContra Costa County | Contra Costa | $132,428 | $16,703 | $80,168 | $139,701 | 13 | 2% at 62 |
| Solano CountySolano County | Solano | $132,392 | $10,638 | $65,485 | $126,262 | 23 | 2% at 62 |
| TracySan Joaquin County | San Joaquin | $130,938 | $7,510 | $80,146 | $130,054 | 20 | 2% at 62 |
| BurbankLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $130,486 | $24,648 | $67,340 | $113,255 | 23 | 2% at 62 |
| Rohnert ParkSonoma County | Sonoma | $130,464 | $28,798 | $67,896 | $91,094 | 15 | 2% at 62 |
| San RafaelMarin County | Marin | $129,432 | $20,696 | $63,356 | $110,448 | 11 | 2% at 62 |
| AlbanyAlameda County | Alameda | $129,236 | $1,259 | $82,994 | $111,204 | 9 | 2% at 62 |
| BeniciaSolano County | Solano | $129,186 | $15,771 | $74,219 | $108,256 | 13 | 2% at 62 |
| BelmontSan Mateo County | San Mateo | $128,259 | $12,116 | $91,169 | $131,482 | 9 | 2% at 55 |
| San Luis ObispoSan Luis Obispo County | San Luis Obispo | $128,148 | $11,013 | $77,220 | $126,464 | 15 | 2% at 62 |
| Santa BarbaraSanta Barbara County | Santa Barbara | $127,098 | $25,699 | $71,659 | $123,407 | 17 | 2% at 62 |
| CoronaRiverside County | Riverside | $126,745 | $38,782 | $61,850 | $114,300 | 26 | 2% at 62 |
| AnaheimOrange County | Orange | $126,638 | $27,742 | $63,107 | $151,093 | 66 | 2% at 62 |
| Santa Barbara CountySanta Barbara County | Santa Barbara | $126,506 | $21,890 | $58,342 | $118,515 | 61 | 2% at 62 |
| North County Dispatch Joint Powers AuthoritySan Diego County | San Diego | $126,143 | $29,305 | $73,400 | $107,731 | 32 | 2% at 62 |
| VallejoSolano County | Solano | $125,817 | $27,174 | $75,526 | $123,256 | 22 | 2% at 62 |
| Stanislaus CountyStanislaus County | Stanislaus | $125,675 | $31,933 | $52,021 | $99,757 | 55 | 2% at 62 |
| Santa AnaOrange County | Orange | $125,134 | $13,124 | $76,294 | $121,920 | 31 | 2% at 62 |
| CoronadoSan Diego County | San Diego | $125,040 | $17,409 | $70,358 | $111,841 | 12 | 2% at 62 |
| PlacentiaOrange County | Orange | $124,502 | $27,211 | $70,387 | $120,640 | 15 | 2% at 62 |
| Redwood Empire Dispatch Communications AuthoritySonoma County | Sonoma | $124,138 | $19,874 | $77,834 | $136,022 | 33 | Not reported |
| Los AngelesLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $124,061 | $7,965 | $64,581 | $113,983 | 616 | 2% at 60 |
| National CitySan Diego County | San Diego | $123,816 | $31,362 | $73,283 | $108,366 | 14 | 2% at 62 |
| MantecaSan Joaquin County | San Joaquin | $123,726 | $14,908 | $71,916 | $123,515 | 13 | 2% at 62 |
| PetalumaSonoma County | Sonoma | $123,314 | $12,838 | $76,502 | $112,320 | 21 | 2% at 62 |
| TurlockStanislaus County | Stanislaus | $123,292 | $19,649 | $66,204 | $124,872 | 20 | 2% at 62 |
| Long BeachLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $123,257 | $26,342 | $62,228 | $153,017 | 98 | 2% at 62 |
| AlamedaAlameda County | Alameda | $122,972 | $3,804 | $89,038 | $137,486 | 15 | 2% at 62 |
| Huntington ParkLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $122,864 | $15,416 | $71,017 | $103,046 | 8 | 2% at 62 |
| Port HuenemeVentura County | Ventura | $122,797 | $11,246 | $72,556 | $110,993 | 6 | 2% at 62 |
| Santa RosaSonoma County | Sonoma | $122,761 | $10,892 | $57,344 | $129,810 | 31 | 2% at 62 |
| Walnut CreekContra Costa County | Contra Costa | $122,551 | $5,027 | $62,400 | $125,926 | 16 | 2% at 62 |
| OntarioSan Bernardino County | San Bernardino | $122,528 | $28,744 | $64,771 | $134,472 | 58 | 2% at 62 |
| San DiegoSan Diego County | San Diego | $121,799 | $10,742 | $59,197 | $114,858 | 250 | 1% at 55 |
| Fountain ValleyOrange County | Orange | $120,808 | $20,062 | $40,146 | $102,474 | 11 | 2% at 62 |
| LompocSanta Barbara County | Santa Barbara | $120,561 | $35,332 | $63,477 | $89,863 | 10 | 2% at 62 |
| DavisYolo County | Yolo | $120,314 | $14,261 | $65,271 | $114,542 | 14 | 2% at 62 |
| PasadenaLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $120,201 | $29,567 | $80,562 | $95,682 | 23 | 2% at 62 |
| Garden GroveOrange County | Orange | $120,087 | $14,628 | $68,233 | $100,809 | 15 | 2.5% at 55 |
| West Cities Communications Center Joint Powers Authority (WESTCOMM)Orange County | Orange | $119,891 | $16,941 | $72,612 | $111,528 | 20 | 2% at 62 |
| OrangeOrange County | Orange | $119,625 | $9,944 | $71,292 | $104,016 | 19 | 2% at 62 |
| BreaOrange County | Orange | $119,568 | $13,720 | $65,503 | $122,024 | 14 | 2% at 55 |
| Nevada CountyNevada County | Nevada | $117,702 | $36,929 | $63,687 | $104,871 | 13 | 2% at 62 |
| CarlsbadSan Diego County | San Diego | $117,007 | $31,916 | $56,529 | $108,204 | 20 | 2% at 62 |
| ChicoButte County | Butte | $116,667 | $4,405 | $56,368 | $100,360 | 27 | 2% at 62 |
| RosevillePlacer County | Placer | $116,348 | $20,917 | $67,142 | $124,708 | 30 | 2% at 62 |
| South Lake TahoeEl Dorado County | El Dorado | $116,034 | $17,252 | $76,476 | $107,916 | 10 | 2% at 62 |
| Chula VistaSan Diego County | San Diego | $115,888 | $10,734 | $62,799 | $118,786 | 32 | 2% at 62 |
| VernonLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $115,716 | $8,552 | $74,316 | $109,798 | 9 | 2.7% at 55 |
| ArcadiaLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $115,701 | $26,166 | $58,008 | $83,916 | 9 | 2% at 62 |
| Amador CountyAmador County | Amador | $115,694 | $5,848 | $56,326 | $82,285 | 13 | 2% at 62 |
| Cathedral CityRiverside County | Riverside | $115,563 | $14,277 | $36,400 | $86,212 | 13 | 2% at 62 |
| FolsomSacramento County | Sacramento | $114,416 | $8,960 | $66,788 | $111,172 | 16 | 2% at 62 |
| San Luis Obispo CountySan Luis Obispo County | San Luis Obispo | $112,728 | $19,519 | $69,950 | $148,949 | 28 | 2% at 62 |
| InglewoodLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $112,571 | $20,236 | $79,753 | $130,511 | 24 | 2% at 62 |
| IndioRiverside County | Riverside | $112,549 | $22,608 | $53,077 | $118,086 | 14 | 2% at 62 |
| SacramentoSacramento County | Sacramento | $112,288 | $5,236 | $63,528 | $127,116 | 84 | 2% at 62 |
| RocklinPlacer County | Placer | $112,203 | $23,240 | $70,835 | $114,509 | 11 | 2% at 55 |
| Sutter CountySutter County | Sutter | $112,174 | $32,008 | $51,147 | $99,341 | 16 | 2% at 62 |
| WestminsterOrange County | Orange | $111,998 | $9,761 | $62,640 | $100,188 | 17 | 2% at 62 |
| MonroviaLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $111,968 | $14,892 | $66,182 | $88,691 | 13 | 2.7% at 55 |
| Shasta Area Safety Communications AgencyShasta County | Shasta | $111,695 | $29,505 | $59,800 | $99,154 | 51 | 2% at 62 |
| Sacramento CountySacramento County | Sacramento | $111,368 | $6,777 | $49,611 | $103,481 | 129 | 2.5% at 67 |
| ChinoSan Bernardino County | San Bernardino | $111,349 | $8,558 | $72,131 | $107,510 | 20 | 2.7% at 55 |
| Baldwin ParkLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $111,187 | $25,707 | $58,912 | $98,631 | 13 | 2% at 62 |
| Los Angeles CountyLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $110,961 | $16,196 | $54,648 | $101,964 | 191 | 2% at 62 |
| La MesaSan Diego County | San Diego | $110,400 | $21,929 | $69,795 | $107,868 | 18 | 2% at 62 |
| South PasadenaLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $110,276 | $29,707 | $62,820 | $76,356 | 6 | 2% at 62 |
| LincolnPlacer County | Placer | $110,009 | $6,434 | $63,892 | $118,376 | 9 | 2% at 62 |
| DowneyLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $110,007 | $22,969 | $60,112 | $108,759 | 29 | 2% at 62 |
| ClovisFresno County | Fresno | $109,870 | $19,612 | $35,152 | $131,796 | 29 | 2% at 62 |
| San Bernardino CountySan Bernardino County | San Bernardino | $109,651 | $21,321 | $42,390 | $109,366 | 163 | 2.5% at 67 |
| Orange CountyOrange County | Orange | $109,594 | $7,943 | $46,093 | $117,562 | 71 | 1.62% at 65 |
| Citrus HeightsSacramento County | Sacramento | $109,229 | $8,728 | $69,659 | $121,058 | 25 | 2% at 62 |
| CeresStanislaus County | Stanislaus | $109,216 | $32,209 | $51,334 | $76,003 | 14 | 2% at 62 |
| MurrietaRiverside County | Riverside | $108,888 | $9,307 | $66,481 | $112,820 | 41 | 2% at 62 |
| UplandSan Bernardino County | San Bernardino | $108,716 | $23,404 | $46,930 | $115,663 | 18 | 2% at 62 |
| Riverside CountyRiverside County | Riverside | $108,471 | $19,601 | $56,851 | $143,792 | 245 | 2% at 62 |
| ClaremontLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $108,412 | $15,419 | $61,740 | $82,823 | 8 | 2.5% at 55 |
| PomonaLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $108,403 | $20,020 | $36,200 | $123,180 | 31 | 2% at 62 |
| Sacramento Regional Public Safety Communications CenterSacramento County | Sacramento | $108,317 | $9,052 | $63,115 | $95,580 | 40 | 2% at 62 |
| Palm SpringsRiverside County | Riverside | $108,283 | $14,338 | $68,844 | $108,468 | 23 | 2% at 62 |
| UkiahMendocino County | Mendocino | $107,798 | $19,856 | $63,715 | $98,250 | 13 | 2% at 62 |
| Monterey ParkLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $107,569 | $19,788 | $31,845 | $108,471 | 12 | 2% at 62 |
| Santa PaulaVentura County | Ventura | $106,940 | $15,458 | $59,197 | $90,542 | 6 | 2% at 62 |
| West CovinaLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $106,579 | $16,645 | $61,032 | $93,612 | 8 | 2% at 62 |
| ColtonSan Bernardino County | San Bernardino | $106,369 | $14,073 | $57,161 | $101,927 | 12 | 2% at 62 |
| LodiSan Joaquin County | San Joaquin | $106,000 | $6,172 | $76,731 | $114,000 | 19 | 2% at 55 |
| BarstowSan Bernardino County | San Bernardino | $104,879 | $9,312 | $60,058 | $89,879 | 11 | 2% at 62 |
| VisaliaTulare County | Tulare | $104,850 | $23,084 | $56,067 | $100,506 | 26 | 2% at 62 |
| Lake CountyLake County | Lake | $104,606 | $32,055 | $53,997 | $84,011 | 8 | 2% at 62 |
| FullertonOrange County | Orange | $104,457 | $17,370 | $61,491 | $89,105 | 13 | 2% at 50 |
| AlhambraLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $104,374 | $14,281 | $62,348 | $113,117 | 17 | 2% at 62 |
| WhittierLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $104,254 | $18,728 | $58,294 | $92,629 | 14 | 2% at 62 |
| MontclairSan Bernardino County | San Bernardino | $103,299 | $23,640 | $60,039 | $104,595 | 15 | 2% at 62 |
| HemetRiverside County | Riverside | $103,242 | $13,790 | $68,736 | $106,236 | 21 | 2% at 62 |
| San GabrielLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $102,930 | $17,476 | $63,864 | $80,614 | 9 | 2% at 62 |
| San BuenaventuraVentura County | Ventura | $102,667 | $11,024 | $69,811 | $107,272 | 19 | 2% at 62 |
| RedlandsSan Bernardino County | San Bernardino | $102,589 | $11,761 | $57,201 | $96,524 | 15 | 2% at 62 |
| Bell GardensLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $102,457 | $10,324 | $71,772 | $114,252 | 9 | 2% at 62 |
| Kern CountyKern County | Kern | $101,712 | $13,792 | $51,056 | $89,152 | 74 | 1.62% at 65 |
| CloverdaleSonoma County | Sonoma | $101,473 | $3,968 | $67,255 | $93,900 | 6 | 2% at 55 |
| EscondidoSan Diego County | San Diego | $101,379 | $13,693 | $64,682 | $95,560 | 25 | 2.7% at 57 |
| RiponSan Joaquin County | San Joaquin | $101,189 | $14,933 | $65,290 | $123,115 | 14 | Not reported |
| Elk GroveSacramento County | Sacramento | $100,635 | $9,164 | $56,566 | $122,640 | 35 | 2% at 62 |
| Yuba CountyYuba County | Yuba | $100,552 | $15,784 | $60,636 | $109,256 | 16 | 2% at 62 |
| Fresno CountyFresno County | Fresno | $100,462 | $21,390 | $53,300 | $89,284 | 61 | 2% at 62 |
| San BernardinoSan Bernardino County | San Bernardino | $100,242 | $24,687 | $56,733 | $98,757 | 33 | 2% at 62 |
| MontebelloLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $99,964 | $19,836 | $59,901 | $95,760 | 10 | 2% at 62 |
| AzusaLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $99,917 | $14,246 | $56,472 | $107,642 | 15 | Not reported |
| Mendocino CountyMendocino County | Mendocino | $99,429 | $16,043 | $55,245 | $83,075 | 17 | 2.7% at 57 |
| BeaumontRiverside County | Riverside | $98,113 | $10,833 | $54,933 | $104,374 | 14 | 2% at 62 |
| GaltSacramento County | Sacramento | $98,071 | $11,066 | $63,882 | $88,138 | 9 | 2% at 62 |
| DelanoKern County | Kern | $97,950 | $19,749 | $53,088 | $86,916 | 11 | 2.7% at 57 |
| Consolidated Fire AgenciesSan Bernardino County | San Bernardino | $97,641 | $19,813 | $47,861 | $104,021 | 53 | 2.5% at 67 |
| San Diego CountySan Diego County | San Diego | $97,436 | $7,688 | $48,110 | $96,221 | 89 | 1.62% at 65 |
| OceansideSan Diego County | San Diego | $97,178 | $8,126 | $64,938 | $99,549 | 28 | 2% at 62 |
| Pismo BeachSan Luis Obispo County | San Luis Obispo | $97,096 | $5,920 | $73,362 | $98,426 | 6 | 2% at 62 |
| Simi ValleyVentura County | Ventura | $96,402 | $23,006 | $55,151 | $91,527 | 26 | 2% at 62 |
| AtascaderoSan Luis Obispo County | San Luis Obispo | $95,956 | $10,699 | $69,630 | $114,150 | 10 | 2% at 62 |
| Yolo Emergency Communications AgencyYolo County | Yolo | $95,892 | $7,439 | $51,415 | $117,074 | 39 | 2% at 62 |
| El Paso De RoblesSan Luis Obispo County | San Luis Obispo | $95,856 | $6,131 | $72,436 | $91,826 | 10 | 2% at 60 |
| Madera CountyMadera County | Madera | $95,707 | $9,380 | $62,246 | $84,401 | 18 | 2% at 62 |
| Colusa CountyColusa County | Colusa | $95,478 | $16,570 | $51,804 | $96,192 | 10 | 2% at 62 |
| La VerneLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $94,654 | $22,050 | $58,302 | $75,592 | 11 | 2% at 62 |
| South GateLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $94,072 | $10,394 | $64,214 | $78,052 | 12 | 2% at 62 |
| EurekaHumboldt County | Humboldt | $93,351 | $16,522 | $54,271 | $72,521 | 9 | 2% at 55 |
| San Joaquin CountySan Joaquin County | San Joaquin | $93,107 | $9,262 | $55,984 | $101,513 | 37 | 2% at 62 |
| Butte CountyButte County | Butte | $92,694 | $16,389 | $54,163 | $96,866 | 19 | 2% at 62 |
| El Dorado CountyEl Dorado County | El Dorado | $92,196 | $20,114 | $58,198 | $95,118 | 25 | 2% at 62 |
| California CityKern County | Kern | $91,138 | $1,717 | $38,085 | $73,715 | 7 | 2% at 62 |
| HanfordKings County | Kings | $89,924 | $20,332 | $55,536 | $91,894 | 18 | 2% at 62 |
| FontanaSan Bernardino County | San Bernardino | $88,785 | $5,560 | $52,146 | $103,709 | 29 | 2% at 62 |
| Los BanosMerced County | Merced | $87,357 | $9,514 | $59,064 | $75,372 | 11 | 2% at 62 |
| BellLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $87,146 | $10,338 | $53,976 | $75,605 | 7 | 2% at 62 |
| OrovilleButte County | Butte | $86,797 | $16,270 | $51,076 | $87,617 | 9 | 2% at 62 |
| CorningTehama County | Tehama | $85,954 | $6,013 | $51,126 | $80,080 | 9 | 2% at 62 |
| Glenn CountyGlenn County | Glenn | $85,360 | $9,589 | $54,184 | $76,128 | 13 | 2% at 62 |
| Merced CountyMerced County | Merced | $84,754 | $14,990 | $52,582 | $83,387 | 21 | 3% at 60 |
| Tulare CountyTulare County | Tulare | $82,992 | $13,365 | $47,105 | $86,358 | 59 | 2% at 57 |
| FresnoFresno County | Fresno | $82,230 | $2,052 | $64,416 | $105,588 | 120 | 2% at 55 |
| RidgecrestKern County | Kern | $81,196 | $15,293 | $21,416 | $60,341 | 9 | 2% at 62 |
| BakersfieldKern County | Kern | $80,906 | $14,038 | $49,458 | $88,220 | 63 | 2% at 62 |
| GlendoraLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $80,062 | $16,951 | $58,843 | $97,444 | 15 | 2% at 62 |
| GridleyButte County | Butte | $79,807 | $3,966 | $45,048 | $76,296 | 8 | 2% at 62 |
| Humboldt CountyHumboldt County | Humboldt | $78,024 | $7,664 | $49,735 | $79,483 | 15 | 2% at 62 |
| TulareTulare County | Tulare | $77,883 | $11,111 | $52,757 | $85,929 | 16 | 2% at 62 |
| Siskiyou CountySiskiyou County | Siskiyou | $77,358 | $6,081 | $41,205 | $78,997 | 10 | 2% at 62 |
| Tuolumne CountyTuolumne County | Tuolumne | $77,000 | $12,282 | $52,036 | $68,847 | 18 | 2% at 62 |
| ShafterKern County | Kern | $76,791 | $5,317 | $60,033 | $103,919 | 8 | 2% at 62 |
| ChowchillaMadera County | Madera | $75,754 | $6,241 | $58,240 | $74,526 | 9 | 2% at 62 |
| Imperial CountyImperial County | Imperial | $75,182 | $18,013 | $46,517 | $73,308 | 8 | 1.95% at 55 |
| SelmaFresno County | Fresno | $74,966 | $13,122 | $53,058 | $75,005 | 14 | 2% at 62 |
| MercedMerced County | Merced | $73,668 | $4,662 | $52,432 | $77,349 | 20 | 2% at 62 |
| CorcoranKings County | Kings | $72,933 | $7,504 | $1,551 | $70,960 | 13 | 2% at 55 |
| Kings CountyKings County | Kings | $72,223 | $12,334 | $49,212 | $85,113 | 20 | 2% at 62 |
| DinubaTulare County | Tulare | $71,492 | $8,361 | $49,504 | $60,195 | 6 | 2% at 55 |
| Red BluffTehama County | Tehama | $70,378 | $4,210 | $53,405 | $77,975 | 8 | 2% at 62 |
| BrawleyImperial County | Imperial | $70,207 | $15,449 | $44,001 | $66,976 | 12 | 2% at 62 |
| PortervilleTulare County | Tulare | $69,356 | $9,588 | $46,908 | $69,864 | 17 | 2% at 62 |
| Trinity CountyTrinity County | Trinity | $69,284 | $9,372 | $42,911 | $73,016 | 21 | 2.7% at 57 |
| ArcataHumboldt County | Humboldt | $68,794 | $6,005 | $52,805 | $70,846 | 6 | 2% at 62 |
| ReedleyFresno County | Fresno | $67,440 | $8,458 | $45,227 | $72,800 | 15 | 2% at 62 |
| Plumas CountyPlumas County | Plumas | $67,434 | $10,014 | $52,125 | $86,445 | 6 | 2% at 62 |
| MaderaMadera County | Madera | $65,488 | $8,465 | $46,014 | $58,735 | 14 | 2% at 62 |
| TaftKern County | Kern | $65,334 | $2,371 | $41,499 | $67,986 | 5 | 2% at 62 |
| Mariposa CountyMariposa County | Mariposa | $63,908 | $2,564 | $25 | $63,544 | 9 | 2% at 62 |
| CalexicoImperial County | Imperial | $59,934 | $11,006 | $40,376 | $56,352 | 9 | 2% at 60 |
| Modoc CountyModoc County | Modoc | $53,722 | $4,226 | $2,868 | $65,544 | 5 | 2% at 62 |
| ArvinKern County | Kern | Not reported | Not reported | $43,805 | $61,630 | 5 | 2% at 62 |
| AtwaterMerced County | Merced | Not reported | Not reported | $48,622 | $76,242 | 9 | 2% at 62 |
| AuburnPlacer County | Placer | Not reported | Not reported | $47,518 | $70,571 | 6 | 2% at 62 |
| BerkeleyAlameda County | Alameda | Not reported | Not reported | $76,762 | $132,551 | 17 | 2% at 62 |
| BishopInyo County | Inyo | Not reported | Not reported | $51,096 | $84,348 | 5 | 2% at 62 |
| CalistogaNapa County | Napa | Not reported | Not reported | $71,208 | $87,033 | 7 | 2% at 62 |
| ClearlakeLake County | Lake | Not reported | Not reported | $51,758 | $62,912 | 7 | 2% at 62 |
| CoalingaFresno County | Fresno | Not reported | Not reported | $43,680 | $64,531 | 6 | 2% at 62 |
| ColmaSan Mateo County | San Mateo | Not reported | Not reported | $116,750 | $129,688 | 10 | 2% at 62 |
| CotatiSonoma County | Sonoma | Not reported | Not reported | $71,345 | $86,695 | 9 | 2% at 62 |
| Desert Hot SpringsRiverside County | Riverside | Not reported | Not reported | $63,636 | $77,350 | 13 | 2% at 62 |
| El CentroImperial County | Imperial | Not reported | Not reported | $42,444 | $83,604 | 15 | 2% at 62 |
| FairfaxMarin County | Marin | Not reported | Not reported | $74,666 | $95,295 | 6 | 2% at 62 |
| FirebaughFresno County | Fresno | Not reported | Not reported | $42,395 | $72,182 | 6 | 2% at 62 |
| FortunaHumboldt County | Humboldt | Not reported | Not reported | $37,367 | $62,508 | 6 | 2% at 62 |
| HealdsburgSonoma County | Sonoma | Not reported | Not reported | $75,342 | $135,382 | 9 | 2% at 62 |
| HillsboroughSan Mateo County | San Mateo | Not reported | Not reported | $101,280 | $123,108 | 6 | 2% at 62 |
| HuronFresno County | Fresno | Not reported | Not reported | $35,152 | $48,360 | 6 | Not reported |
| IrwindaleLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | Not reported | Not reported | $65,304 | $79,377 | 7 | 2% at 62 |
| La PalmaOrange County | Orange | Not reported | Not reported | $62,213 | $83,366 | 7 | 2% at 62 |
| LemooreKings County | Kings | Not reported | Not reported | $43,095 | $76,380 | 9 | 2% at 62 |
| LivingstonMerced County | Merced | Not reported | Not reported | $43,780 | $53,214 | 7 | 2% at 62 |
| MarysvilleYuba County | Yuba | Not reported | Not reported | $51,117 | $62,133 | 10 | 2.7% at 57 |
| Menlo ParkSan Mateo County | San Mateo | Not reported | Not reported | $107,219 | $145,963 | 16 | 2% at 62 |
| Mt. ShastaSiskiyou County | Siskiyou | Not reported | Not reported | $56,514 | $75,566 | 5 | 2% at 62 |
| NovatoMarin County | Marin | Not reported | Not reported | $76,119 | $97,155 | 9 | 2% at 62 |
| OakdaleStanislaus County | Stanislaus | Not reported | Not reported | $59,380 | $71,373 | 10 | 2% at 62 |
| ParadiseButte County | Butte | Not reported | Not reported | $54,288 | $69,306 | 7 | 2% at 62 |
| PiedmontAlameda County | Alameda | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 9 | 2% at 62 |
| San MarinoLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | Not reported | Not reported | $67,188 | $81,660 | 6 | 2% at 62 |
| SebastopolSonoma County | Sonoma | Not reported | Not reported | $67,787 | $78,499 | 6 | 2% at 55 |
| Sierra MadreLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | Not reported | Not reported | $60,884 | $74,005 | 9 | 2% at 62 |
| Signal HillLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | Not reported | Not reported | $66,422 | $84,774 | 6 | 2% at 62 |
| St. HelenaNapa County | Napa | Not reported | Not reported | $84,383 | $104,330 | 5 | 2% at 62 |
| TehachapiKern County | Kern | Not reported | Not reported | $47,448 | $74,376 | 8 | 2% at 62 |
| WeedSiskiyou County | Siskiyou | Not reported | Not reported | $56,832 | $80,004 | 6 | 2% at 62 |
| WillitsMendocino County | Mendocino | Not reported | Not reported | $53,219 | $72,651 | 6 | 2% at 62 |
| YrekaSiskiyou County | Siskiyou | Not reported | Not reported | $48,354 | $65,790 | 11 | 2% at 62 |
| Del Norte CountyDel Norte County | Del Norte | Not reported | Not reported | $47,268 | $69,837 | 7 | 2% at 62 |
| Inyo CountyInyo County | Inyo | Not reported | Not reported | $52,530 | $76,026 | 7 | 2% at 62 |
| Lassen CountyLassen County | Lassen | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 9 | 2% at 62 |
| Tehama CountyTehama County | Tehama | Not reported | Not reported | $51,688 | $75,067 | 10 | 2% at 62 |
| Heartland Communications Facility AuthoritySan Diego County | San Diego | Not reported | Not reported | $65,374 | $79,477 | 17 | 2% at 62 |
| Santa Cruz Regional 911Santa Cruz County | Santa Cruz | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 50 | 2% at 62 |
No employer matches. Clear the search or pick another county or size.
"Not reported" under take-home means fewer than 5 dispatchers worked the full year, or the employer reported no pay range. Employers with fewer than 5 dispatchers aren't listed.
Questions about 911 dispatcher pay in California
How much do 911 dispatchers make in California?
Full-year 911 dispatchers in California took home a median of $120,908 in 2025, including a median of $16,524 in overtime. Their median base pay was $89,484.
Which California employer pays 911 dispatchers the most?
Among employers with at least 5 full-year dispatchers, San Ramon Valley Fire Protection has the highest median take-home, $224,472, followed by Mountain View ($214,918) and Sunnyvale ($207,046).
Which California employer pays 911 dispatchers the least?
Among employers with at least 5 full-year dispatchers, Modoc County has the lowest median take-home, $53,722, followed by Calexico ($59,934) and Mariposa County ($63,908).
Who employs 911 dispatchers in California?
Cities, counties and regional agencies. The largest employers are Los Angeles (616 dispatchers), San Diego (250) and Riverside County (245).
Sources for the California 911 dispatcher figures
Every person who held a 911 dispatcher position at any point in 2025 counts toward the headcount. Pay figures use only people who worked roughly the full year: those whose regular pay reached at least 90% of the bottom of their official range. Take-home is total wages, including overtime, lump sums and other pay. Every figure covers at least 5 people.
- State Controller's Office, Government Compensation in California, 2025: positions, official pay ranges, wages, pension formulas and employer contributions as reported by each city, county and special district.
- Association of Bay Area Governments, Our Members: the nine Bay Area counties.