Utah water operator salaries by employer, 2025-26
728 people worked as water operators for 84 cities, towns, counties and water and sewer districts in Utah in the newest year each employer has published (fiscal years 2025 and 2026). Those who worked the full year earned an average of $73,935, overtime included.
What is the average water operator salary in Utah?
Lowest-paying employer
$54,929
Price River Water Improvement District
Local district in Carbon County, fiscal year 2025
Highest- and lowest-paying among the 15 employers with at least 10 full-year operators. The lists below include every employer with at least 5.
- Water operators
- 728
- 505 of them worked the full year
- Employers
- 84
- 34 with 5 or more operators, in 12 counties
- Median total pay
- $72,432
- the middle water operator: half earned more, half less
- Overtime
- In total pay
- Utah's file doesn't list it separately
What stands out in Utah water operator pay
Summit, Wasatch and Salt Lake counties pay the most.
By county, the average total pay is highest in Summit, Wasatch and Salt Lake counties ($120,146, $108,894 and $78,518).
Which Utah employers pay water operators the most?
By average total pay of full-year operators, among employers with at least 5 of them.
Highest average total pay
- Park CityCity in Summit County, fiscal year 2026
11 full-year operators$121,888 - SandyCity in Salt Lake County, fiscal year 2026
5 full-year operators$94,228 - Taylorsville-Bennion Improvement DistrictLocal district in Salt Lake County, fiscal year 2025
12 full-year operators$88,976 - Metropolitan Water District of Salt Lake & SandyLocal district in Salt Lake County, fiscal year 2026
9 full-year operators$87,548 - Jordan Valley Water Conservancy DistrictLocal district in Salt Lake County, fiscal year 2026
14 full-year operators$85,131 - Salt Lake CityCity in Salt Lake County, fiscal year 2026
118 full-year operators$81,529 - DraperCity in Salt Lake County, fiscal year 2026
5 full-year operators$75,371 - ProvoCity in Utah County, fiscal year 2026
25 full-year operators$74,490 - PaysonCity in Utah County, fiscal year 2026
7 full-year operators$72,797 - St. GeorgeCity in Washington County, fiscal year 2025
45 full-year operators$69,148
Highest water operator salaries in Utah: the top employers by total pay and by county
Compare water operator pay at every Utah employer
What full-year water and wastewater operators earned at each employer, overtime included. Click a column to sort it.
Showing 1 to 25 of 34 employers, highest average total pay first.
| Park CitySummit County | Summit | $121,888 | fiscal year 2026 | 11 | Water treatment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SandySalt Lake County | Salt Lake | $94,228 | fiscal year 2026 | 5 | Water system |
| Taylorsville-Bennion Improvement DistrictSalt Lake County | Salt Lake | $88,976 | fiscal year 2025 | 13 | Wastewater collection |
| Metropolitan Water District of Salt Lake & SandySalt Lake County | Salt Lake | $87,548 | fiscal year 2026 | 11 | Water system |
| Jordan Valley Water Conservancy DistrictSalt Lake County | Salt Lake | $85,131 | fiscal year 2026 | 17 | Water treatment |
| Salt Lake CitySalt Lake County | Salt Lake | $81,529 | fiscal year 2026 | 166 | Water distribution |
| DraperSalt Lake County | Salt Lake | $75,371 | fiscal year 2026 | 5 | Water system |
| ProvoUtah County | Utah | $74,490 | fiscal year 2026 | 32 | Wastewater treatment |
| PaysonUtah County | Utah | $72,797 | fiscal year 2026 | 14 | Water system |
| St. GeorgeWashington County | Washington | $69,148 | fiscal year 2025 | 74 | Water system |
| Brigham CityBox Elder County | Box Elder | $69,136 | fiscal year 2025 | 8 | Water system |
| North Davis Sewer DistrictDavis County | Davis | $67,545 | fiscal year 2025 | 21 | Wastewater treatment |
| TooeleTooele County | Tooele | $67,510 | fiscal year 2026 | 18 | Water distribution |
| HerrimanSalt Lake County | Salt Lake | $66,406 | fiscal year 2026 | 17 | Water system |
| Cedar CityIron County | Iron | $65,876 | fiscal year 2025 | 18 | Water system |
| LoganCache County | Cache | $65,305 | fiscal year 2026 | 7 | Not specified |
| West JordanSalt Lake County | Salt Lake | $64,585 | fiscal year 2026 | 38 | Water system |
| LehiUtah County | Utah | $64,584 | fiscal year 2026 | 17 | Water system |
| Spanish ForkUtah County | Utah | $64,048 | fiscal year 2026 | 23 | Water system |
| Washington CityWashington County | Washington | $63,760 | fiscal year 2026 | 17 | Water system |
| MidvaleSalt Lake County | Salt Lake | $61,427 | fiscal year 2026 | 9 | Water system |
| SmithfieldCache County | Cache | $60,530 | fiscal year 2026 | 7 | Water and wastewater |
| BluffdaleSalt Lake County | Salt Lake | $59,507 | fiscal year 2026 | 9 | Water system |
| Eagle MountainUtah County | Utah | $57,513 | fiscal year 2026 | 13 | Water system |
| Price River Water Improvement DistrictCarbon County | Carbon | $54,929 | fiscal year 2025 | 10 | Not specified |
No employer matches. Clear the search or pick another county or size.
"Fewer than 5": fewer than 5 operators worked the full year, too few for an average. Employers with fewer than 5 operators aren't listed.
How reliable are the Utah water operator figures?
Pay here is total pay, overtime included.
Utah's file has one wage figure per person, so base pay and overtime can't be shown on their own.1
Who worked the full year is our best estimate.
The file has no hours or start dates. We count someone as full-year when they worked for the same employer the year before, were paid at least 90% as much, and were paid at least a full year at the minimum wage.2 Steady part-timers paid above that can still pass the test: 5 of the 505 full-year operators were paid under $25,000.
Employers report different years.
Each employer shows the newest full year it has published: fiscal year 2026 for 24 employers and fiscal year 2025 for 10 employers. Where an employer's 2026 figures looked like part of a year, we show 2025. State figures combine both years.
There are no official pay ranges.
The file lists each person's title and pay, not the employer's pay scale, so these pages show what operators were paid, not what a job can pay.
Titles were sorted by hand.
The file has no departments and cuts some long titles short, so we decided each title one by one. A plain title such as "Plant Operator" counts only at a district whose name says water or sewer.
Which Utah water jobs count as operators here, and which don't?
These figures count the people who run water and wastewater plants and systems: jobs that need a state operator certificate or train toward one, plus sewer crews. Utah certifies drinking water operators in treatment and distribution, and every community water system needs at least one operator certified at the system's grade.3 Wastewater treatment plants and sewer collection systems are each rated class I to IV, and the chief operator and supervisors in charge must be certified at no less than that class.4
Counted
- Plant and system operators. Operators at drinking water and wastewater treatment plants, distribution and collection system operators, and trainees. The file has no departments, so a plain title such as "Plant Operator" counts only at a district whose name says water or sewer.
- Operator titles that don't say water or wastewater (17 people at 2 employers). Titles such as Price River Water Improvement District's Plant Operator, Logan's W/W Treatment Plant Operator I and Logan's W/W Treatment Plant Operator II. They count in every total and average here, but not in the comparisons by kind of work. Full-year operators in these titles averaged $58,388.
- Sewer maintenance and collection crews. They clean, inspect and repair sewer lines and run lift stations, such as Salt Lake City's Wastewater Collection Maintenance Workers.
Left out
- Water maintenance crews (202 people). Crews that lay and repair water mains, service lines and meters. Their titles don't name operator work, and the state requires a certified operator in charge of each system, not a certificate for every crew member.3 Crews whose titles cover both water and sewer lines are left out too.
- Water and wastewater technicians (99 people). We haven't checked whether their job descriptions require a certificate.
- Irrigation and canal workers (5 people). They move untreated water. Irrigation districts aren't counted.
- Seasonal and part-time titles, stormwater crews, power and heating plant operators, mechanics, lab staff, managers and superintendents.
- State agencies, universities and school districts. A few run water systems of their own, but they aren't counted here.
Every Utah employer with a water operator pay page, by county
34 employers with at least 5 operators. Employers without an average had fewer than 5 full-year operators, or their records don't show who worked the full year.
Box Elder County
- Brigham City$69,136
Cache County
- Logan$65,305
- Smithfield$60,530
Carbon County
- Priceno average
- Price River Water Improvement District$54,929
Davis County
- Bountiful$52,325
- North Davis Sewer District$67,545
Iron County
- Cedar City$65,876
Salt Lake County
- Bluffdale$59,507
- Draper$75,371
- Herriman$66,406
- Jordan Valley Water Conservancy District$85,131
- Metropolitan Water District of Salt Lake & Sandy$87,548
- Midvale$61,427
- Salt Lake City$81,529
- Sandy$94,228
- Taylorsville-Bennion Improvement District$88,976
- West Jordan$64,585
Summit County
- Park City$121,888
Tooele County
- Grantsvilleno average
- Tooele$67,510
Utah County
- Eagle Mountain$57,513
- Lehi$64,584
- Lindonno average
- Payson$72,797
- Provo$74,490
- Salemno average
- Saratoga Springsno average
- Spanish Fork$64,048
Wasatch County
- Jordanelle Special Service Districtno average
Washington County
- Hurricaneno average
- St. George$69,148
- Washington City$63,760
Weber County
- Bona Vista Water Improvement Districtno average
Questions about water operator pay in Utah
How much do water operators make in Utah?
Full-year water and wastewater operators in Utah earned an average of $73,935, overtime included, in the newest year each employer has published (fiscal years 2025 and 2026). The middle operator earned $72,432: half earned more, half less.
Which Utah employer pays water operators the most?
Among employers with at least 10 full-year operators, Park City has the highest average total pay, $121,888, followed by Taylorsville-Bennion Improvement District ($88,976) and Jordan Valley Water Conservancy District ($85,131).
Which Utah employer pays water operators the least?
Among employers with at least 10 full-year operators, Price River Water Improvement District has the lowest average total pay, $54,929, followed by Washington City ($63,760) and Spanish Fork ($64,048).
Do water treatment or wastewater operators earn more in Utah?
By average total pay of full-year staff: wastewater treatment operators $71,452 and water system operators $67,590.
Who employs water operators in Utah?
Cities and towns, and water and sewer districts. Of the 34 employers with at least 5 operators, 27 are cities or towns and 7 are water or sewer districts.
Sources for the Utah water operator figures
Every person who held a water operator position at any point in the newest year each employer has published (fiscal years 2025 and 2026) counts toward the headcount. Pay figures use only people who worked for the same employer the year before, were paid at least 90% as much as in that year, earned at least 90% of that pay in the job's titles, and were paid at least $15,080, a full year at Utah's minimum wage of $7.25 an hour.2 Utah's file has no hours or start dates, so this is the closest sign of a full year. Total pay is the wages each employer reported, before tax. Utah's file has one wage figure per person with overtime inside it, so pay here is total pay and overtime can't be shown on its own. Every figure covers at least 5 people.
- Transparent Utah, Office of the Utah State Auditor: title, wages and benefits of every employee of every Utah city, town, county and local district, as each reports them for its fiscal year.
- Utah Code, Section 34-40-103, Minimum wage: Utah's minimum wage, the federal rate of $7.25 an hour.
- Utah Administrative Code, R309-300-5, certification rules for water supply operators.
- Utah Administrative Code, R317-10, certification of wastewater works operators: R317-10-5 (who must be certified) and R317-10-6 (facility classes).