California social worker salaries by employer, 2025
23,185 people worked as social workers for 96 counties, cities and public hospital districts in California in 2025. Those who worked the full year took home an average of $105,739.
What is the average social worker salary in California?
- Social workers
- 23,185
- 18,744 of them worked the full year
- Employers
- 96
- 71 with 5 or more social workers, in 56 counties
- Employer pension contribution
- $15,906
- average per full-year social worker
- Health, dental and vision
- $18,243
- average paid by the employer per year
What stands out in California social worker pay
Medical and children's social workers take home the most.
By type, the average full-year take-home is $119,800 for medical social workers, $114,660 for children's social workers, $110,386 for mental health social workers and $96,501 for general social workers. General includes social workers whose unit isn't named in the data.1
Supervisors take home almost twice as much as trainees.
Full-year social worker trainees took home an average of $68,729; social work supervisors $126,267.
The three best-paying counties are all in the Bay Area.
By county, the average take-home is highest in Santa Clara, San Mateo and San Francisco counties ($145,566, $137,387, $129,691), all part of the Bay Area2.
Los Angeles County employs 35% of California's social workers.
8,128 of the 23,185 people who worked as social workers in California in 2025 worked for Los Angeles County.
Social workers' take-home stays within the official pay range.
At 61 of the 63 employers we can compare, full-year social workers took home no more on average than the top of the employer's official range.
Overtime is rare for social workers.
The middle full-year social worker was paid $799 in overtime. The average, $4,970, is pulled up by a few who work a lot more. Full-year 911 dispatchers averaged $23,152.
Which California employers pay social workers the most?
By average take-home of full-year social workers, among employers with at least 5 of them.
Highest average take-home
- Alameda Health SystemHospital district in Alameda County$150,771
- Santa Clara CountyCounty government$145,566
- San Mateo CountyCounty government$137,387
- San FranciscoCity in San Francisco County$129,691
- Napa CountyCounty government$128,363
- Salinas Valley Memorial Healthcare DistrictHospital district in Monterey County$127,279
- Alameda CountyCounty government$124,676
- Marin CountyCounty government$124,026
- Solano CountyCounty government$123,723
- Yolo CountyCounty government$123,300
Compare social worker pay at every California employer
Official pay range across each employer's social worker titles, and what full-year social workers took home. Click a column to sort it.
Showing 1 to 25 of 71 employers, highest average take-home first.
| Alameda Health SystemAlameda County | Alameda | $150,771 | $61,549 | $244,688 | 75 | Medical | Not reported |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Santa Clara CountySanta Clara County | Santa Clara | $145,566 | $87,747 | $146,811 | 1,035 | General | 2% at 62 |
| San Mateo CountySan Mateo County | San Mateo | $137,387 | $81,848 | $166,920 | 275 | General | 2% at 62 |
| San FranciscoSan Francisco County | San Francisco | $129,691 | $74,984 | $159,874 | 632 | General | 2.3% at 65 |
| Napa CountyNapa County | Napa | $128,363 | $87,705 | $171,234 | 93 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Salinas Valley Memorial Healthcare DistrictMonterey County | Monterey | $127,279 | $112,424 | $204,131 | 14 | Medical | Not reported |
| Alameda CountyAlameda County | Alameda | $124,676 | $34,320 | $148,179 | 487 | Children's | 2.5% at 67 |
| Marin CountyMarin County | Marin | $124,026 | $88,130 | $148,845 | 122 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Solano CountySolano County | Solano | $123,723 | $66,349 | $131,907 | 223 | Children's | 2% at 62 |
| Yolo CountyYolo County | Yolo | $123,300 | $61,256 | $123,552 | 93 | Children's | 2% at 62 |
| Contra Costa CountyContra Costa County | Contra Costa | $118,258 | $81,578 | $139,833 | 380 | Children's | 2.5% at 67 |
| Monterey CountyMonterey County | Monterey | $116,898 | $68,848 | $139,364 | 411 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Washington Township Health Care DistrictAlameda County | Alameda | $116,313 | $97,602 | $179,920 | 8 | Medical | Not reported |
| Sonoma CountySonoma County | Sonoma | $114,547 | $73,154 | $133,388 | 288 | General | Not reported |
| Los Angeles CountyLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $112,967 | $50,010 | $128,899 | 8,128 | Children's | 2% at 62 |
| Santa Cruz CountySanta Cruz County | Santa Cruz | $109,828 | $65,000 | $132,454 | 138 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Amador CountyAmador County | Amador | $104,370 | $59,696 | $100,443 | 21 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Los AngelesLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $101,231 | $75,627 | $153,948 | 14 | General | 2% at 60 |
| Ventura CountyVentura County | Ventura | $100,216 | $2,080 | $246,891 | 376 | Children's | 2% at 62 |
| Nevada CountyNevada County | Nevada | $98,916 | $61,196 | $134,090 | 30 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Sacramento CountySacramento County | Sacramento | $98,518 | $77,966 | $109,829 | 753 | Children's | 2.5% at 67 |
| Orange CountyOrange County | Orange | $98,479 | $60,403 | $121,368 | 1,570 | General | 1.62% at 65 |
| San Diego CountySan Diego County | San Diego | $97,669 | $58,136 | $115,398 | 1,389 | Children's | 1.62% at 65 |
| San Joaquin CountySan Joaquin County | San Joaquin | $97,375 | $53,318 | $211,028 | 425 | General | 2% at 62 |
| El Dorado CountyEl Dorado County | El Dorado | $96,632 | $58,032 | $114,192 | 93 | General | 2% at 62 |
| San Luis Obispo CountySan Luis Obispo County | San Luis Obispo | $96,583 | $57,117 | $116,626 | 124 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Inyo CountyInyo County | Inyo | $95,433 | $60,809 | $101,882 | 13 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Santa Barbara CountySanta Barbara County | Santa Barbara | $94,579 | $69,308 | $228,675 | 88 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Yuba CountyYuba County | Yuba | $90,737 | $54,336 | $139,464 | 68 | Children's | 2% at 62 |
| Mono CountyMono County | Mono | $90,577 | $72,326 | $110,326 | 8 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Lake CountyLake County | Lake | $90,384 | $51,397 | $137,654 | 59 | General | 2% at 62 |
| San Bernardino CountySan Bernardino County | San Bernardino | $90,154 | $49,067 | $115,565 | 1,416 | General | 2.5% at 67 |
| Humboldt CountyHumboldt County | Humboldt | $89,660 | $49,488 | $104,570 | 139 | Children's | 2% at 62 |
| OaklandAlameda County | Alameda | $88,808 | $65,953 | $80,951 | 7 | Children's | 2% at 62 |
| Mendocino CountyMendocino County | Mendocino | $88,694 | $54,142 | $102,773 | 90 | General | 2.7% at 57 |
| Kings CountyKings County | Kings | $88,405 | $49,961 | $105,414 | 93 | Children's | 2% at 62 |
| Glenn CountyGlenn County | Glenn | $88,049 | $58,989 | $96,221 | 31 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Riverside CountyRiverside County | Riverside | $87,427 | $45,263 | $114,711 | 623 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Huntington BeachOrange County | Orange | $86,869 | $64,509 | $106,434 | 5 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Madera CountyMadera County | Madera | $86,398 | $49,156 | $103,400 | 113 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Kern CountyKern County | Kern | $85,504 | $53,408 | $101,495 | 625 | General | 1.62% at 65 |
| San Benito CountySan Benito County | San Benito | $84,127 | $52,665 | $109,035 | 40 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Siskiyou CountySiskiyou County | Siskiyou | $83,325 | $48,797 | $95,570 | 27 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Tulare CountyTulare County | Tulare | $83,026 | $45,284 | $95,190 | 239 | Children's | 2% at 57 |
| Fresno CountyFresno County | Fresno | $82,955 | $50,518 | $97,292 | 521 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Mariposa CountyMariposa County | Mariposa | $82,575 | $59,093 | $95,222 | 28 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Plumas CountyPlumas County | Plumas | $82,446 | $55,869 | $108,264 | 10 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Sierra CountySierra County | Sierra | $81,916 | $51,847 | $99,711 | 5 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Kern County Hospital AuthorityKern County | Kern | $81,872 | $58,360 | $96,333 | 28 | Medical | 1.62% at 65 |
| Butte CountyButte County | Butte | $81,028 | $52,042 | $103,855 | 125 | Children's | 2% at 62 |
| Del Norte CountyDel Norte County | Del Norte | $80,861 | $48,990 | $108,260 | 19 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Merced CountyMerced County | Merced | $78,222 | $48,859 | $102,336 | 210 | General | 3% at 60 |
| Sutter CountySutter County | Sutter | $77,742 | $47,278 | $111,134 | 59 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Calaveras CountyCalaveras County | Calaveras | $77,435 | $59,134 | $111,176 | 31 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Colusa CountyColusa County | Colusa | $76,546 | $50,052 | $113,232 | 11 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Shasta CountyShasta County | Shasta | $74,788 | $53,737 | $93,754 | 151 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Trinity CountyTrinity County | Trinity | $73,782 | $54,645 | $126,578 | 16 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Stanislaus CountyStanislaus County | Stanislaus | $73,716 | $45,074 | $110,427 | 724 | Children's | 2% at 62 |
| Tehama CountyTehama County | Tehama | $73,063 | $49,213 | $89,211 | 48 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Tuolumne CountyTuolumne County | Tuolumne | $71,809 | $44,805 | $96,966 | 41 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Modoc CountyModoc County | Modoc | $64,520 | $2,623 | $80,400 | 8 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Imperial CountyImperial County | Imperial | $63,776 | $44,409 | $97,017 | 134 | General | 1.95% at 55 |
| NorwalkLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $58,810 | $43,451 | $66,408 | 17 | General | 2% at 62 |
| Lassen CountyLassen County | Lassen | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 17 | Children's | 2% at 62 |
| Imperial Valley Healthcare DistrictImperial County | Imperial | Not reported | $70,616 | $97,094 | 6 | Medical | Not reported |
| Kaweah Delta Health Care DistrictTulare County | Tulare | Not reported | $80,954 | $121,430 | 5 | Medical | Not reported |
| Lompoc Hospital DistrictSanta Barbara County | Santa Barbara | Not reported | $57,533 | $121,160 | 5 | Medical | Not reported |
| Oak Valley Hospital DistrictStanislaus County | Stanislaus | Not reported | $35,303 | $87,727 | 6 | Medical | Not reported |
| Palomar Health DistrictSan Diego County | San Diego | Not reported | $87,984 | $144,310 | 11 | Medical | Not reported |
| Pioneers Memorial Hospital DistrictImperial County | Imperial | Not reported | $70,616 | $97,094 | 6 | Medical | Not reported |
| Sierra View Local Health Care DistrictTulare County | Tulare | Not reported | $40,165 | $111,322 | 10 | Medical | Not reported |
No employer matches. Clear the search or pick another county or size.
"Not reported" under take-home means fewer than 5 social workers worked the full year, or the employer reported no pay range. Employers with fewer than 5 social workers aren't listed.
Questions about social worker pay in California
How much do social workers make in California?
Full-year social workers in California took home an average of $105,739 in 2025. The middle social worker took home $102,651: half took home more, half less.
Which California employer pays social workers the most?
Among employers with at least 5 full-year social workers, Alameda Health System has the highest average take-home, $150,771, followed by Santa Clara County ($145,566) and San Mateo County ($137,387).
Which California employer pays social workers the least?
Among employers with at least 5 full-year social workers, Norwalk has the lowest average take-home, $58,810, followed by Imperial County ($63,776) and Modoc County ($64,520).
Which kind of social worker earns the most in California?
By average take-home of full-year staff: medical social workers $119,800, children's social workers $114,660, mental health social workers $110,386 and general social workers $96,501.
Who employs social workers in California?
Mostly counties, which run child welfare, adult services and mental health. Public hospital districts employ medical social workers. The largest employer is Los Angeles County, with 8,128 social workers.
Sources for the California social worker figures
Every person who held a social worker position at any point in 2025 counts toward the headcount. Pay figures use only people who worked roughly the full year: those whose regular pay reached at least 90% of the bottom of their official range. Take-home is total wages, including overtime, lump sums and other pay. Every figure covers at least 5 people.
- State Controller's Office, Government Compensation in California, 2025: positions, official pay ranges, wages, pension formulas and employer contributions as reported by each city, county and special district.
- Association of Bay Area Governments, Our Members: the nine Bay Area counties.