Westmorland Union Elementary School District teacher salaries
Westmorland Union Elementary School District is an elementary school district in Imperial County, with its district office in Westmorland. A teacher with a full credential starts at $66,384. The largest group (55%) is on the BA+75 OR MA+30 column, which climbs to $134,475 by step 24.
Lowest
$63,830
BA before a full credential, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$107,408
- $8,754 below Imperial County average
- $3,856 above California average
Highest
$134,475
BA+75 OR MA+30 with a credential, step 24
Westmorland Union Elementary average
AveragesCalifornia $103,552, Imperial County $116,162
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 20
- Starting salary
- $66,384
- BA+45 OR MA with a credential, step 1
- Median salary
- $102,190
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 167th of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does Westmorland Union Elementary pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
Yes
Westmorland Union Elementary's average of $107,408 is above the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
Westmorland Union Elementary ranks 167th of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 15 reporting districts in Imperial County
Westmorland Union Elementary ranks 7th of 15, above the middle district.
Middle district: $106,492
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Step 5 on Westmorland Union Elementary's BA+45 OR MA column pays $77,660. Experienced teachers joining Westmorland Union Elementary can be placed as high as step 6.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. Westmorland Union Elementary's columns run from BA+45 OR MA to BA+75 OR MA+30, 3 in all.
- Credentialed
- Holds a full California teaching credential, the state license to teach. Westmorland Union Elementary's credentialed columns start at $66,384.
- Without full credential
- Teachers who don't yet hold a full credential. Westmorland Union Elementary pays them on separate columns, starting at $63,830.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at Westmorland Union Elementary?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$102,191
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $134,475 on step 24.
Westmorland Union Elementary's full salary schedule, 2024-252
No single cell here has 5 or more full-time equivalents, so none is shaded. 40% of Westmorland Union Elementary's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | BA+45 OR MA | BA+60 OR MA+15 | BA+75 OR MA+30 |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | |||
| 2 | |||
| 3 | |||
| 4 | |||
| 5 | |||
| 6 | |||
| 7 | |||
| 8 | |||
| 9 | |||
| 10 | |||
| 11 | |||
| 12 | |||
| 13 | |||
| 14 to 15 | |||
| 16 to 17 | |||
| 18 to 19 | |||
| 20 to 21 | |||
| 22 to 23 | |||
| 24 |
Only BA+75 OR MA+30 continues past step 12.
| Step | BA |
|---|---|
| 1 | |
| 2 | |
| 3 | |
| 4 | |
| 5 |
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 0
Bonuses, health cover and work days at Westmorland Union Elementary
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planUp to $10,000paid by the district each year
- Master's degree bonus$5003 full-time equivalents eligible
- Doctorate bonusNot reported
- Bilingual teaching bonus$500
- National Board Certification bonusNot reported
- Special education bonusNot reported
- Summer school pay$46 an hour
- Work days a year185 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year0%can also mean not reported
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 6
Questions about teacher pay at Westmorland Union Elementary
How much do Westmorland Union Elementary teachers make?
The average salary on Westmorland Union Elementary's teacher schedule is $107,408 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $63,830 (BA before a full credential, step 1) to $134,475 (BA+75 OR MA+30 with a credential, step 24).
What does a new teacher earn at Westmorland Union Elementary?
A new teacher with a full credential starts at $66,384 (BA+45 OR MA column, step 1). Teachers without a full credential start lower, at $63,830. Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 6.
How long does it take to reach the top of the Westmorland Union Elementary pay scale?
On the BA+75 OR MA+30 column, where 55% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 24, where it reaches $134,475. Steps go up with years of service.
Does a master's degree raise pay at Westmorland Union Elementary?
Yes, in two ways. The college units from a master's move you to a higher column on the schedule, and Westmorland Union Elementary reports a master's bonus of $500 on top.
Is Westmorland Union Elementary teacher pay high for California?
Westmorland Union Elementary's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 167th of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 7th of 15 in Imperial County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $116,162 in Imperial County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in Imperial County
Sources for the Westmorland Union Elementary figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- Westmorland Union Elementary's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.