Meadows Union School District teacher salaries
Meadows Union School District is an elementary school district in Imperial County, with its district office in El Centro. Pay starts at $56,254 on the first step. The largest group (39%) is on the BA+60 column, which climbs to $118,338 by step 27.
Lowest
$56,254
BA, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$100,782
- $15,380 below Imperial County average
- $2,770 below California average
Highest
$121,038
BA+MA, step 27
Meadows Union average
California average$103,552
Imperial County average$116,162
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 23
- Starting salary
- $56,254
- BA, step 1
- Median salary
- $105,383
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 284th of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does Meadows Union pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
Yes
Meadows Union's average of $100,782 is above the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
Meadows Union ranks 284th of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 15 reporting districts in Imperial County
Meadows Union ranks 10th of 15, below the middle district.
Middle district: $106,492
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Step 5 on Meadows Union's BA column pays $67,051. Experienced teachers joining Meadows Union can be placed as high as step 27.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. Meadows Union's columns run from BA to BA+MA, 5 in all.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at Meadows Union?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$88,646
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $118,338 on step 27.
Meadows Union's full salary schedule, 2024-252
No single cell here has 5 or more full-time equivalents, so none is shaded. 65% of Meadows Union's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | BA | BA+30 | BA+45 | BA+60 | BA+MA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | |||||
| 2 | |||||
| 3 | |||||
| 4 | |||||
| 5 | |||||
| 6 | |||||
| 7 | |||||
| 8 | |||||
| 9 | |||||
| 10 | |||||
| 11 | |||||
| 12 | |||||
| 13 | |||||
| 14 | |||||
| 15 to 17 | |||||
| 18 to 20 | |||||
| 21 to 22 | |||||
| 23 to 26 | |||||
| 27 |
Only BA+45, BA+60, BA+MA continue past step 9.
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 0
Bonuses, health cover and work days at Meadows Union
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planUp to $20,187paid by the district each year
- Master's degree bonusNot reported
- Doctorate bonusNot reported
- Bilingual teaching bonusNot reported
- National Board Certification bonusNot reported
- Special education bonusNot reported
- Summer school payNot reported
- Work days a year185 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year3.54%
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 27
Questions about teacher pay at Meadows Union
How much do Meadows Union teachers make?
The average salary on Meadows Union's teacher schedule is $100,782 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $56,254 (BA, step 1) to $121,038 (BA+MA, step 27).
What does a new teacher earn at Meadows Union?
The schedule starts at $56,254 (BA, step 1). Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 27.
How long does it take to reach the top of the Meadows Union pay scale?
On the BA+60 column, where 39% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 27, where it reaches $118,338. Steps go up with years of service.
Is Meadows Union teacher pay high for California?
Meadows Union's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 284th of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 10th of 15 in Imperial County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $116,162 in Imperial County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in Imperial County
Sources for the Meadows Union figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- Meadows Union's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.