Holtville Unified School District teacher salaries
Holtville Unified School District is a unified school district in Imperial County, with its district office in Holtville. Pay starts at $65,664 on the first step. The largest group (63%) is on the BA+MA column, which climbs to $123,419 by step 28.
Lowest
$65,664
BA, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$99,733
- $16,429 below Imperial County average
- $3,819 below California average
Highest
$123,419
BA+MA, step 28
Holtville Unified average
California average$103,552
Imperial County average$116,162
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 104
- Starting salary
- $65,664
- BA, step 1
- Median salary
- $103,394
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 302nd of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does Holtville Unified pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
Yes
Holtville Unified's average of $99,733 is above the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
Holtville Unified ranks 302nd of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 15 reporting districts in Imperial County
Holtville Unified ranks 11th of 15, below the middle district.
Middle district: $106,492
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Step 5 on Holtville Unified's BA column pays $75,995. Experienced teachers joining Holtville Unified can be placed as high as step 28.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. Holtville Unified's columns run from BA to BA+MA, 6 in all.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at Holtville Unified?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$99,760
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $123,419 on step 28.
Holtville Unified's full salary schedule, 2024-252
Shading shows where teachers actually sit. 45% of Holtville Unified's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | BA | BA+30 | BA+45 | BA+60 | BA+75 | BA+MA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ||||||
| 2 | ||||||
| 3 | ||||||
| 4 | ||||||
| 5 | ||||||
| 6 | ||||||
| 7 | ||||||
| 8 | ||||||
| 9 | ||||||
| 10 | ||||||
| 11 | ||||||
| 12 | ||||||
| 13 | ||||||
| 14 | ||||||
| 15 | ||||||
| 16 | ||||||
| 17 | ||||||
| 18 | ||||||
| 19 | ||||||
| 20 | ||||||
| 21 | ||||||
| 22 | ||||||
| 23 | ||||||
| 24 | ||||||
| 25 | ||||||
| 26 | ||||||
| 27 | ||||||
| 28 |
Only BA+30, BA+45, BA+60, BA+75, BA+MA continue past step 7.
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 5
Bonuses, health cover and work days at Holtville Unified
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planUp to $12,204paid by the district each year
- Master's degree bonusNot reported
- Doctorate bonusNot reported
- Bilingual teaching bonusNot reported
- National Board Certification bonusNot reported
- Special education bonusNot reported
- Summer school pay$47 an hour
- Work days a year185 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year0%can also mean not reported
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 28
Questions about teacher pay at Holtville Unified
How much do Holtville Unified teachers make?
The average salary on Holtville Unified's teacher schedule is $99,733 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $65,664 (BA, step 1) to $123,419 (BA+MA, step 28).
What does a new teacher earn at Holtville Unified?
The schedule starts at $65,664 (BA, step 1). Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 28.
How long does it take to reach the top of the Holtville Unified pay scale?
On the BA+MA column, where 63% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 28, where it reaches $123,419. Steps go up with years of service.
Is Holtville Unified teacher pay high for California?
Holtville Unified's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 302nd of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 11th of 15 in Imperial County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $116,162 in Imperial County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in Imperial County
Sources for the Holtville Unified figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- Holtville Unified's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.