Lindsay Unified School District teacher salaries
Lindsay Unified School District is a unified school district in Tulare County, with its district office in Lindsay. A teacher with a full credential starts at $71,339. The largest group (57%) is on the BA+75 column, which climbs to $133,818 by step 20.
Lowest
$68,267
NON-CRED before a full credential, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$104,850
- $6,246 above Tulare County average
- $1,298 above California average
Highest
$133,818
BA+75 with a credential, step 20
Lindsay Unified average
AveragesTulare County $98,604, California $103,552
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 201
- Starting salary
- $71,339
- DSC/ <BA with a credential, step 1
- Median salary
- $101,669
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 216th of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does Lindsay Unified pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
Yes
Lindsay Unified's average of $104,850 is above the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
Lindsay Unified ranks 216th of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 38 reporting districts in Tulare County
Lindsay Unified ranks 5th of 38, above the middle district.
Middle district: $93,328
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Step 5 on Lindsay Unified's DSC/ <BA column pays $78,745. Experienced teachers joining Lindsay Unified can be placed as high as step 40.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. Lindsay Unified's columns run from DSC/ <BA to BA+75, 5 in all.
- Credentialed
- Holds a full California teaching credential, the state license to teach. Lindsay Unified's credentialed columns start at $71,339.
- Without full credential
- Teachers who don't yet hold a full credential. Lindsay Unified pays them on separate columns, starting at $68,267.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at Lindsay Unified?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$101,669
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $133,818 on step 20.
Lindsay Unified's full salary schedule, 2024-252
Shading shows where teachers actually sit. 46% of Lindsay Unified's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | DSC/ <BA | BA | BA+45 | BA+60 | BA+75 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | |||||
| 2 | |||||
| 3 | |||||
| 4 | |||||
| 5 | |||||
| 6 | |||||
| 7 | |||||
| 8 | |||||
| 9 | |||||
| 10 | |||||
| 11 | |||||
| 12 | |||||
| 13 | |||||
| 14 | |||||
| 15 | |||||
| 16 | |||||
| 17 | |||||
| 18 | |||||
| 19 | |||||
| 20 | |||||
| 21 to 22 | |||||
| 23 | |||||
| 24 | |||||
| 25 | |||||
| 26 | |||||
| 27 | |||||
| 28 | |||||
| 29 to 40 |
Only BA+75 continues past step 28.
| Step | NON-CRED |
|---|---|
| 1 |
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 12
Bonuses, health cover and work days at Lindsay Unified
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planUp to $18,694paid by the district each year
- Master's degree bonus$2,755112 full-time equivalents eligible
- Doctorate bonusNot reported
- Bilingual teaching bonus$2,50728 full-time equivalents eligible
- National Board Certification bonusNot reported
- Special education bonus$2,50718 full-time equivalents eligible
- Summer school pay$50 an hour
- Work days a year188 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year1.84%
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 40
Questions about teacher pay at Lindsay Unified
How much do Lindsay Unified teachers make?
The average salary on Lindsay Unified's teacher schedule is $104,850 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $68,267 (NON-CRED before a full credential, step 1) to $133,818 (BA+75 with a credential, step 20).
What does a new teacher earn at Lindsay Unified?
A new teacher with a full credential starts at $71,339 (DSC/ <BA column, step 1). Teachers without a full credential start lower, at $68,267. Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 40.
How long does it take to reach the top of the Lindsay Unified pay scale?
On the BA+75 column, where 57% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 20, where it reaches $133,818. Steps go up with years of service.
Does a master's degree raise pay at Lindsay Unified?
Yes, in two ways. The college units from a master's move you to a higher column on the schedule, and Lindsay Unified reports a master's bonus of $2,755 on top.
Is Lindsay Unified teacher pay high for California?
Lindsay Unified's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 216th of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 5th of 38 in Tulare County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $98,604 in Tulare County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in Tulare County
Sources for the Lindsay Unified figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- Lindsay Unified's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.