Brawley Union High School District teacher salaries
Brawley Union High School District is a high school district in Imperial County, with its district office in Brawley. Pay starts at $71,660 on the first step. The largest group (61%) is on the MA column, which climbs to $162,343 by step 30.
Lowest
$71,660
BA/ CTE, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$128,213
- $12,051 above Imperial County average
- $24,661 above California average
Highest
$162,343
MA, step 30
Brawley Union High average
AveragesCalifornia $103,552, Imperial County $116,162
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 90
- Starting salary
- $71,660
- BA/ CTE, step 1
- Median salary
- $134,152
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 25th of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does Brawley Union High pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
Yes
Brawley Union High's average of $128,213 is above the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
Brawley Union High ranks 25th of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 15 reporting districts in Imperial County
Brawley Union High ranks 1st of 15, above the middle district.
Middle district: $106,492
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Step 5 on Brawley Union High's BA/ CTE column pays $86,718. Experienced teachers joining Brawley Union High can be placed as high as step 11.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. Brawley Union High's columns run from BA/ CTE to MA, 6 in all.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at Brawley Union High?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$126,201
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $162,343 on step 30.
Brawley Union High's full salary schedule, 2024-252
Shading shows where teachers actually sit. 48% of Brawley Union High's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | BA/ CTE | BA+15 | BA+30 | BA+45 | BA+60 | MA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ||||||
| 2 | ||||||
| 3 | ||||||
| 4 | ||||||
| 5 | ||||||
| 6 | ||||||
| 7 | ||||||
| 8 | ||||||
| 9 | ||||||
| 10 | ||||||
| 11 | ||||||
| 12 to 14 | ||||||
| 15 to 17 | ||||||
| 18 to 20 | ||||||
| 21 to 22 | ||||||
| 23 | ||||||
| 24 to 26 | ||||||
| 27 to 29 | ||||||
| 30 |
Only BA+30, BA+45, BA+60, MA continue past step 9.
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 7
Bonuses, health cover and work days at Brawley Union High
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planNot reported
- Master's degree bonusNot reported
- Doctorate bonus$1,5001 full-time equivalents eligible
- Bilingual teaching bonus$1,750
- National Board Certification bonusNot reported
- Special education bonus$4,1078 full-time equivalents eligible
- Summer school pay$54 an hour
- Work days a year187 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year0%can also mean not reported
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 11
Questions about teacher pay at Brawley Union High
How much do Brawley Union High teachers make?
The average salary on Brawley Union High's teacher schedule is $128,213 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $71,660 (BA/ CTE, step 1) to $162,343 (MA, step 30).
What does a new teacher earn at Brawley Union High?
The schedule starts at $71,660 (BA/ CTE, step 1). Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 11.
How long does it take to reach the top of the Brawley Union High pay scale?
On the MA column, where 61% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 30, where it reaches $162,343. Steps go up with years of service.
Is Brawley Union High teacher pay high for California?
Brawley Union High's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 25th of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 1st of 15 in Imperial County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $116,162 in Imperial County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in Imperial County
Sources for the Brawley Union High figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- Brawley Union High's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.