Winters Joint Unified School District teacher salaries
Winters Joint Unified School District is a unified school district in Yolo County, with its district office in Winters. A teacher with a full credential starts at $59,128. The largest group (55%) is on the +60 OR BA+90 OR MA+30 column, which climbs to $110,783 by step 28.
Lowest
$56,125
BA before a full credential, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$86,817
- $1,721 above Yolo County average
- $16,735 below California average
Highest
$110,783
+60 OR BA+90 OR MA+30 with a credential, step 28
Winters Joint Unified average
Yolo County average$85,096
California average$103,552
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 87
- Starting salary
- $59,128
- CRED with a credential, step 1
- Median salary
- $92,029
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 540th of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does Winters Joint Unified pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
No
Winters Joint Unified's average of $86,817 is below the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
Winters Joint Unified ranks 540th of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 6 reporting districts in Yolo County
Winters Joint Unified ranks 2nd of 6, above the middle district.
Middle district: $84,731
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Step 5 on Winters Joint Unified's CRED column pays $61,414. Experienced teachers joining Winters Joint Unified can be placed as high as step 11.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. Winters Joint Unified's columns run from CRED to +60 OR BA+90 OR MA+30, 5 in all.
- Credentialed
- Holds a full California teaching credential, the state license to teach. Winters Joint Unified's credentialed columns start at $59,128.
- Without full credential
- Teachers who don't yet hold a full credential. Winters Joint Unified pays them on separate columns, starting at $56,125.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at Winters Joint Unified?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$81,866
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $110,783 on step 28.
Winters Joint Unified's full salary schedule, 2024-252
Shading shows where teachers actually sit. 48% of Winters Joint Unified's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | CRED | +15 OR BA+45 | +30 OR BA+60 OR MA | +45 OR BA+75 OR MA+15 | +60 OR BA+90 OR MA+30 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | |||||
| 2 | |||||
| 3 | |||||
| 4 | |||||
| 5 | |||||
| 6 | |||||
| 7 | |||||
| 8 | |||||
| 9 | |||||
| 10 | |||||
| 11 | |||||
| 12 | |||||
| 13 | |||||
| 14 | |||||
| 15 | |||||
| 16 | |||||
| 17 | |||||
| 18 | |||||
| 19 | |||||
| 20 | |||||
| 21 to 24 | |||||
| 25 | |||||
| 26 to 27 | |||||
| 28 |
Only +60 OR BA+90 OR MA+30 continues past step 20.
| Step | BA |
|---|---|
| 1 |
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 7
Bonuses, health cover and work days at Winters Joint Unified
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planUp to $11,064paid by the district each year
- Master's degree bonusNot reported
- Doctorate bonusNot reported
- Bilingual teaching bonus$1,684
- National Board Certification bonusNot reported
- Special education bonus$2,806
- Summer school pay$50 an hour
- Work days a year183 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year2.5%
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 11
Questions about teacher pay at Winters Joint Unified
How much do Winters Joint Unified teachers make?
The average salary on Winters Joint Unified's teacher schedule is $86,817 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $56,125 (BA before a full credential, step 1) to $110,783 (+60 OR BA+90 OR MA+30 with a credential, step 28).
What does a new teacher earn at Winters Joint Unified?
A new teacher with a full credential starts at $59,128 (CRED column, step 1). Teachers without a full credential start lower, at $56,125. Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 11.
How long does it take to reach the top of the Winters Joint Unified pay scale?
On the +60 OR BA+90 OR MA+30 column, where 55% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 28, where it reaches $110,783. Steps go up with years of service.
Is Winters Joint Unified teacher pay high for California?
Winters Joint Unified's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 540th of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 2nd of 6 in Yolo County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $85,096 in Yolo County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in Yolo County
Sources for the Winters Joint Unified figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- Winters Joint Unified's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.