Red Bluff Joint Union High School District teacher salaries
Red Bluff Joint Union High School District is a high school district in Tehama County, with its district office in Red Bluff. A teacher with a full credential starts at $61,180. The largest group (31%) is on the BA+66 OR MA column, which climbs to $99,073 by step 13.
Lowest
$52,904
INTERN before a full credential, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$93,578
- $11,949 above Tehama County average
- $9,974 below California average
Highest
$119,006
BA+78 with a credential, step 31
Red Bluff Joint Union High average
Tehama County average$81,629
California average$103,552
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 69
- Starting salary
- $61,180
- BA with a credential, step 1
- Median salary
- $93,848
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 429th of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does Red Bluff Joint Union High pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
No
Red Bluff Joint Union High's average of $93,578 is below the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
Red Bluff Joint Union High ranks 429th of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 13 reporting districts in Tehama County
Red Bluff Joint Union High ranks 1st of 13, above the middle district.
Middle district: $80,415
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Step 5 on Red Bluff Joint Union High's BA column pays $70,329. Experienced teachers joining Red Bluff Joint Union High can be placed as high as step 10.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. Red Bluff Joint Union High's columns run from BA to BA+78, 8 in all.
- Credentialed
- Holds a full California teaching credential, the state license to teach. Red Bluff Joint Union High's credentialed columns start at $61,180.
- Without full credential
- Teachers who don't yet hold a full credential. Red Bluff Joint Union High pays them on separate columns, starting at $52,904.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at Red Bluff Joint Union High?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$91,235
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $99,073 on step 13.
Red Bluff Joint Union High's full salary schedule, 2024-252
Shading shows where teachers actually sit. 39% of Red Bluff Joint Union High's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | BA | BA+42 | BA+54 | BA+66 OR MA | BA+69 | BA+72 | BA+75 | BA+78 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ||||||||
| 2 | ||||||||
| 3 | ||||||||
| 4 | ||||||||
| 5 | ||||||||
| 6 | ||||||||
| 7 | ||||||||
| 8 | ||||||||
| 9 | ||||||||
| 10 | ||||||||
| 11 | ||||||||
| 12 | ||||||||
| 13 | ||||||||
| 14 | ||||||||
| 15 | ||||||||
| 16 | ||||||||
| 17 | ||||||||
| 18 | ||||||||
| 19 | ||||||||
| 20 | ||||||||
| 21 | ||||||||
| 22 | ||||||||
| 23 | ||||||||
| 24 | ||||||||
| 25 | ||||||||
| 26 | ||||||||
| 27 | ||||||||
| 28 | ||||||||
| 29 | ||||||||
| 30 | ||||||||
| 31 |
Only BA+78 continues past step 22.
| Step | INTERN |
|---|---|
| 1 | |
| 2 |
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 6
Bonuses, health cover and work days at Red Bluff Joint Union High
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planUp to $14,000paid by the district each year
- Master's degree bonusNot reported
- Doctorate bonusNot reported
- Bilingual teaching bonusNot reported
- National Board Certification bonusNot reported
- Special education bonusNot reported
- Summer school pay$54 an hour
- Work days a year185 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year0%can also mean not reported
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 10
Questions about teacher pay at Red Bluff Joint Union High
How much do Red Bluff Joint Union High teachers make?
The average salary on Red Bluff Joint Union High's teacher schedule is $93,578 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $52,904 (INTERN before a full credential, step 1) to $119,006 (BA+78 with a credential, step 31).
What does a new teacher earn at Red Bluff Joint Union High?
A new teacher with a full credential starts at $61,180 (BA column, step 1). Teachers without a full credential start lower, at $52,904. Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 10.
How long does it take to reach the top of the Red Bluff Joint Union High pay scale?
On the BA+66 OR MA column, where 31% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 13, where it reaches $99,073. Steps go up with years of service.
Is Red Bluff Joint Union High teacher pay high for California?
Red Bluff Joint Union High's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 429th of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 1st of 13 in Tehama County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $81,629 in Tehama County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in Tehama County
Sources for the Red Bluff Joint Union High figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- Red Bluff Joint Union High's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.