Yuba City Unified School District teacher salaries
Yuba City Unified School District is a unified school district in Sutter County, with its district office in Yuba City. A teacher with a full credential starts at $60,437. The largest group (47%) is on the BA+75 OR MA+30 column, which climbs to $126,004 by step 31.
Lowest
$56,443
EMERG before a full credential, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$95,814
- $4,947 above Sutter County average
- $7,738 below California average
Highest
$126,004
BA+75 OR MA+30 with a credential, step 31
Yuba City Unified average
Sutter County average$90,867
California average$103,552
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 544
- Starting salary
- $60,437
- BA+30 OR with a credential, step 1
- Median salary
- $102,425
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 385th of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does Yuba City Unified pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
Yes
Yuba City Unified's average of $95,814 is above the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
Yuba City Unified ranks 385th of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 11 reporting districts in Sutter County
Yuba City Unified ranks 2nd of 11, above the middle district.
Middle district: $75,996
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Step 5 on Yuba City Unified's BA+30 OR column pays $66,455. Experienced teachers joining Yuba City Unified can be placed as high as step 31.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. Yuba City Unified's columns run from BA+30 OR to BA+75 OR MA+30, 4 in all.
- Credentialed
- Holds a full California teaching credential, the state license to teach. Yuba City Unified's credentialed columns start at $60,437.
- Without full credential
- Teachers who don't yet hold a full credential. Yuba City Unified pays them on separate columns, starting at $56,443.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at Yuba City Unified?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$91,054
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $126,004 on step 31.
Yuba City Unified's full salary schedule, 2024-252
Shading shows where teachers actually sit. 50% of Yuba City Unified's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | BA+30 OR | BA+45 OR MA | BA+60 OR MA+15 | BA+75 OR MA+30 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ||||
| 2 | ||||
| 3 | ||||
| 4 | ||||
| 5 | ||||
| 6 | ||||
| 7 | ||||
| 8 | ||||
| 9 | ||||
| 10 | ||||
| 11 | ||||
| 12 | ||||
| 13 | ||||
| 14 | ||||
| 15 | ||||
| 16 | ||||
| 17 | ||||
| 18 | ||||
| 19 | ||||
| 20 | ||||
| 21 | ||||
| 22 | ||||
| 23 | ||||
| 24 | ||||
| 25 | ||||
| 26 | ||||
| 27 | ||||
| 28 | ||||
| 29 | ||||
| 30 | ||||
| 31 |
Only BA+60 OR MA+15, BA+75 OR MA+30 continue past step 12.
| Step | EMERG |
|---|---|
| 1 | |
| 2 | |
| 3 |
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 29
Bonuses, health cover and work days at Yuba City Unified
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planUp to $12,207paid by the district each year
- Master's degree bonus$2,500208 full-time equivalents eligible
- Doctorate bonus$5,0003 full-time equivalents eligible
- Bilingual teaching bonusNot reported
- National Board Certification bonus$2,5001 full-time equivalents eligible
- Special education bonusNot reported
- Summer school payNot reported
- Work days a year186 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year2.57%
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 31
Questions about teacher pay at Yuba City Unified
How much do Yuba City Unified teachers make?
The average salary on Yuba City Unified's teacher schedule is $95,814 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $56,443 (EMERG before a full credential, step 1) to $126,004 (BA+75 OR MA+30 with a credential, step 31).
What does a new teacher earn at Yuba City Unified?
A new teacher with a full credential starts at $60,437 (BA+30 OR column, step 1). Teachers without a full credential start lower, at $56,443. Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 31.
How long does it take to reach the top of the Yuba City Unified pay scale?
On the BA+75 OR MA+30 column, where 47% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 31, where it reaches $126,004. Steps go up with years of service.
Does a master's degree raise pay at Yuba City Unified?
Yes, in two ways. The college units from a master's move you to a higher column on the schedule, and Yuba City Unified reports a master's bonus of $2,500 on top. For a doctorate it reports $5,000.
Is Yuba City Unified teacher pay high for California?
Yuba City Unified's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 385th of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 2nd of 11 in Sutter County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $90,867 in Sutter County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in Sutter County
Sources for the Yuba City Unified figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- Yuba City Unified's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.