Piner-Olivet Union Elementary School District teacher salaries
Piner-Olivet Union Elementary School District is an elementary school district in Sonoma County, with its district office in Santa Rosa. A teacher with a full credential starts at $71,711. The largest group (40%) is on the BA+70 column, which climbs to $126,391 by step 24.
Lowest
$48,872
EMERG/ INTERN before a full credential, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$102,347
- $5,591 above Sonoma County average
- $1,205 below California average
Highest
$126,391
BA+70 with a credential, step 24
Piner-Olivet Union Elementary average
AveragesSonoma County $96,756, California $103,552
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 53
- Starting salary
- $71,711
- BA+30 with a credential, step 1
- Median salary
- $104,395
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 261st of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does Piner-Olivet Union Elementary pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
Yes
Piner-Olivet Union Elementary's average of $102,347 is above the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
Piner-Olivet Union Elementary ranks 261st of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 28 reporting districts in Sonoma County
Piner-Olivet Union Elementary ranks 7th of 28, above the middle district.
Middle district: $96,755
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Step 5 on Piner-Olivet Union Elementary's BA+30 column pays $76,512. Experienced teachers joining Piner-Olivet Union Elementary can be placed as high as step 11.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. Piner-Olivet Union Elementary's columns run from BA+30 to BA+70, 5 in all.
- Credentialed
- Holds a full California teaching credential, the state license to teach. Piner-Olivet Union Elementary's credentialed columns start at $71,711.
- Without full credential
- Teachers who don't yet hold a full credential. Piner-Olivet Union Elementary pays them on separate columns, starting at $48,872.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at Piner-Olivet Union Elementary?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$108,008
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $126,391 on step 24.
Piner-Olivet Union Elementary's full salary schedule, 2024-252
No single cell here has 5 or more full-time equivalents, so none is shaded. 39% of Piner-Olivet Union Elementary's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | BA+30 | BA+40 | BA+50 | BA+60 | BA+70 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | |||||
| 2 | |||||
| 3 | |||||
| 4 | |||||
| 5 | |||||
| 6 | |||||
| 7 | |||||
| 8 | |||||
| 9 | |||||
| 10 | |||||
| 11 | |||||
| 12 | |||||
| 13 | |||||
| 14 to 15 | |||||
| 16 to 17 | |||||
| 18 to 19 | |||||
| 20 to 21 | |||||
| 22 to 23 | |||||
| 24 | |||||
| 25 to 32 |
Only BA+70 continues past step 24.
| Step | EMERG/ INTERN |
|---|---|
| 1 | |
| 2 | |
| 3 | |
| 4 | |
| 5 | |
| 6 | |
| 7 | |
| 8 | |
| 9 | |
| 10 to 24 |
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 0
Bonuses, health cover and work days at Piner-Olivet Union Elementary
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planUp to $18,600paid by the district each year
- Master's degree bonus$1,10014 full-time equivalents eligible
- Doctorate bonus$1,100
- Bilingual teaching bonusNot reported
- National Board Certification bonusNot reported
- Special education bonusNot reported
- Summer school pay$50 an hour
- Work days a year185 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year4%
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 11
Questions about teacher pay at Piner-Olivet Union Elementary
How much do Piner-Olivet Union Elementary teachers make?
The average salary on Piner-Olivet Union Elementary's teacher schedule is $102,347 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $48,872 (EMERG/ INTERN before a full credential, step 1) to $126,391 (BA+70 with a credential, step 24).
What does a new teacher earn at Piner-Olivet Union Elementary?
A new teacher with a full credential starts at $71,711 (BA+30 column, step 1). Teachers without a full credential start lower, at $48,872. Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 11.
How long does it take to reach the top of the Piner-Olivet Union Elementary pay scale?
On the BA+70 column, where 40% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 24, where it reaches $126,391. Steps go up with years of service.
Does a master's degree raise pay at Piner-Olivet Union Elementary?
Yes, in two ways. The college units from a master's move you to a higher column on the schedule, and Piner-Olivet Union Elementary reports a master's bonus of $1,100 on top. For a doctorate it reports $1,100.
Is Piner-Olivet Union Elementary teacher pay high for California?
Piner-Olivet Union Elementary's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 261st of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 7th of 28 in Sonoma County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $96,756 in Sonoma County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in Sonoma County
Sources for the Piner-Olivet Union Elementary figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- Piner-Olivet Union Elementary's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.