Campbell Union School District teacher salaries
Campbell Union School District is an elementary school district in Santa Clara County, with its district office in Campbell. A teacher with a full credential starts at $82,477. The largest group (79%) is on the BA+60 column, which climbs to $139,687 by step 25.
Lowest
$80,830
INTERN PERMIT WAIVER before a full credential, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$119,973
- $2,283 below Santa Clara County average
- $16,421 above California average
Highest
$139,687
BA+60 with a credential, step 25
Campbell Union average
California average$103,552
Santa Clara County average$122,256
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 295
- Starting salary
- $82,477
- BA TO 29 with a credential, step 1
- Median salary
- $129,937
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 52nd of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does Campbell Union pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
Yes
Campbell Union's average of $119,973 is above the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
Campbell Union ranks 52nd of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 29 reporting districts in Santa Clara County
Campbell Union ranks 11th of 29, above the middle district.
Middle district: $117,248
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Step 5 on Campbell Union's BA TO 29 column pays $82,477. Experienced teachers joining Campbell Union can be placed as high as step 15.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. Campbell Union's columns run from BA TO 29 to BA+60, 4 in all.
- Credentialed
- Holds a full California teaching credential, the state license to teach. Campbell Union's credentialed columns start at $82,477.
- Without full credential
- Teachers who don't yet hold a full credential. Campbell Union pays them on separate columns, starting at $80,830.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at Campbell Union?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$121,005
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $139,687 on step 25.
Campbell Union's full salary schedule, 2024-252
Shading shows where teachers actually sit. 44% of Campbell Union's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | BA TO 29 | BA+30 | BA+45 | BA+60 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ||||
| 2 | ||||
| 3 | ||||
| 4 | ||||
| 5 | ||||
| 6 | ||||
| 7 | ||||
| 8 | ||||
| 9 | ||||
| 10 | ||||
| 11 | ||||
| 12 | ||||
| 13 | ||||
| 14 | ||||
| 15 | ||||
| 16 | ||||
| 17 | ||||
| 18 | ||||
| 19 | ||||
| 20 | ||||
| 21 to 23 | ||||
| 24 | ||||
| 25 | ||||
| 26 | ||||
| 27 | ||||
| 28 to 30 | ||||
| 31 to 33 | ||||
| 34 to 40 |
Only BA+60 continues past step 30.
| Step | INTERN PERMIT WAIVER |
|---|---|
| 1 to 12 |
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 13
Bonuses, health cover and work days at Campbell Union
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planUp to $14,935paid by the district each year
- Master's degree bonus$2,800171 full-time equivalents eligible
- Doctorate bonusNot reported
- Bilingual teaching bonus$2,00030 full-time equivalents eligible
- National Board Certification bonusNot reported
- Special education bonus$2,00023 full-time equivalents eligible
- Summer school pay$50 an hour
- Work days a year185 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year3%
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 15
Questions about teacher pay at Campbell Union
How much do Campbell Union teachers make?
The average salary on Campbell Union's teacher schedule is $119,973 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $80,830 (INTERN PERMIT WAIVER before a full credential, step 1) to $139,687 (BA+60 with a credential, step 25).
What does a new teacher earn at Campbell Union?
A new teacher with a full credential starts at $82,477 (BA TO 29 column, step 1). Teachers without a full credential start lower, at $80,830. Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 15.
How long does it take to reach the top of the Campbell Union pay scale?
On the BA+60 column, where 79% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 25, where it reaches $139,687. Steps go up with years of service.
Does a master's degree raise pay at Campbell Union?
Yes, in two ways. The college units from a master's move you to a higher column on the schedule, and Campbell Union reports a master's bonus of $2,800 on top.
Is Campbell Union teacher pay high for California?
Campbell Union's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 52nd of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 11th of 29 in Santa Clara County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $122,256 in Santa Clara County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in Santa Clara County
Sources for the Campbell Union figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- Campbell Union's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.