San Luis Obispo County Office of Education teacher salaries
San Luis Obispo County Office of Education is a county office of education in San Luis Obispo County, with its district office in San Luis Obispo. A teacher with a full credential starts at $57,176. The largest group (76%) is on the BA+60 OR MA+15 column, which climbs to $134,739 by step 30.
Lowest
$57,176
EMERG/ PROV before a full credential, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$93,261
- $5,313 above San Luis Obispo County average
- $10,291 below California average
Highest
$134,739
BA+60 OR MA+15 with a credential, step 30
San Luis Obispo County Office of Education average
San Luis Obispo County average$87,948
California average$103,552
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 28
- Starting salary
- $57,176
- BA<45 with a credential, step 1
- Median salary
- $94,503
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 434th of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does San Luis Obispo County Office of Education pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
No
San Luis Obispo County Office of Education's average of $93,261 is below the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
San Luis Obispo County Office of Education ranks 434th of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 11 reporting districts in San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo County Office of Education ranks 1st of 11, above the middle district.
Middle district: $86,653
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Step 5 on San Luis Obispo County Office of Education's BA<45 column pays $60,658. Experienced teachers joining San Luis Obispo County Office of Education can be placed as high as step 30.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. San Luis Obispo County Office of Education's columns run from BA<45 to BA+60 OR MA+15, 3 in all.
- Credentialed
- Holds a full California teaching credential, the state license to teach. San Luis Obispo County Office of Education's credentialed columns start at $57,176.
- Without full credential
- Teachers who don't yet hold a full credential. San Luis Obispo County Office of Education pays them on separate columns, starting at $57,176.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at San Luis Obispo County Office of Education?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$74,602
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $134,739 on step 30.
San Luis Obispo County Office of Education's full salary schedule, 2024-252
No single cell here has 5 or more full-time equivalents, so none is shaded. 59% of San Luis Obispo County Office of Education's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | BA<45 | BA+45 OR MA | BA+60 OR MA+15 |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | |||
| 2 | |||
| 3 | |||
| 4 | |||
| 5 | |||
| 6 | |||
| 7 | |||
| 8 | |||
| 9 | |||
| 10 | |||
| 11 | |||
| 12 | |||
| 13 | |||
| 14 | |||
| 15 | |||
| 16 | |||
| 17 | |||
| 18 | |||
| 19 | |||
| 20 | |||
| 21 | |||
| 22 | |||
| 23 | |||
| 24 | |||
| 25 | |||
| 26 | |||
| 27 | |||
| 28 | |||
| 29 | |||
| 30 |
Only BA+45 OR MA, BA+60 OR MA+15 continue past step 10.
| Step | EMERG/ PROV |
|---|---|
| 1 to 4 | |
| 5 |
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 0
Bonuses, health cover and work days at San Luis Obispo County Office of Education
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planUp to $14,550paid by the district each year
- Master's degree bonusNot reported
- Doctorate bonus$600
- Bilingual teaching bonusNot reported
- National Board Certification bonusNot reported
- Special education bonusNot reported
- Summer school pay$103 an hour
- Work days a year186 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year3%
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 30
Questions about teacher pay at San Luis Obispo County Office of Education
How much do San Luis Obispo County Office of Education teachers make?
The average salary on San Luis Obispo County Office of Education's teacher schedule is $93,261 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $57,176 (EMERG/ PROV before a full credential, step 1) to $134,739 (BA+60 OR MA+15 with a credential, step 30).
What does a new teacher earn at San Luis Obispo County Office of Education?
A new teacher with a full credential starts at $57,176 (BA<45 column, step 1). Teachers without a full credential start lower, at $57,176. Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 30.
How long does it take to reach the top of the San Luis Obispo County Office of Education pay scale?
On the BA+60 OR MA+15 column, where 76% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 30, where it reaches $134,739. Steps go up with years of service.
Is San Luis Obispo County Office of Education teacher pay high for California?
San Luis Obispo County Office of Education's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 434th of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 1st of 11 in San Luis Obispo County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $87,948 in San Luis Obispo County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in San Luis Obispo County
Sources for the San Luis Obispo County Office of Education figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- San Luis Obispo County Office of Education's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.