Oro Grande School District teacher salaries
Oro Grande School District is an elementary school district in San Bernardino County, with its district office in Oro Grande. A teacher with a full credential starts at $71,809. The largest group (49%) is on the MA column, which climbs to $138,212 by step 31.
Lowest
$68,218
PERMIT/ INTERN before a full credential, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$95,037
- $11,792 below San Bernardino County average
- $8,515 below California average
Highest
$138,212
MA with a credential, step 31
Oro Grande average
AveragesCalifornia $103,552, San Bernardino County $106,829
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 324
- Starting salary
- $71,809
- PRELIM with a credential, step 1
- Median salary
- $93,047
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 407th of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does Oro Grande pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
Yes
Oro Grande's average of $95,037 is above the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
Oro Grande ranks 407th of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 33 reporting districts in San Bernardino County
Oro Grande ranks 25th of 33, below the middle district.
Middle district: $103,690
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Step 5 on Oro Grande's PRELIM column pays $80,822. Experienced teachers joining Oro Grande can be placed as high as step 10.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. Oro Grande's columns run from PRELIM to MA, 3 in all.
- Credentialed
- Holds a full California teaching credential, the state license to teach. Oro Grande's credentialed columns start at $71,809.
- Without full credential
- Teachers who don't yet hold a full credential. Oro Grande pays them on separate columns, starting at $68,218.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at Oro Grande?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$101,676
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $138,212 on step 31.
Oro Grande's full salary schedule, 2024-252
Shading shows where teachers actually sit. 14% of Oro Grande's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | PRELIM | BA | MA |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | |||
| 2 | |||
| 3 | |||
| 4 | |||
| 5 | |||
| 6 | |||
| 7 | |||
| 8 | |||
| 9 | |||
| 10 | |||
| 11 | |||
| 12 | |||
| 13 | |||
| 14 | |||
| 15 | |||
| 16 | |||
| 17 | |||
| 18 | |||
| 19 | |||
| 20 | |||
| 21 | |||
| 22 | |||
| 23 | |||
| 24 | |||
| 25 | |||
| 26 | |||
| 27 | |||
| 28 | |||
| 29 | |||
| 30 | |||
| 31 |
Only MA continues past step 25.
| Step | PERMIT/ INTERN |
|---|---|
| 1 |
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 17
Bonuses, health cover and work days at Oro Grande
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planUp to $19,144paid by the district each year
- Master's degree bonusNot reported
- Doctorate bonusNot reported
- Bilingual teaching bonusNot reported
- National Board Certification bonusNot reported
- Special education bonusNot reported
- Summer school payNot reported
- Work days a year185 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year2%
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 10
Questions about teacher pay at Oro Grande
How much do Oro Grande teachers make?
The average salary on Oro Grande's teacher schedule is $95,037 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $68,218 (PERMIT/ INTERN before a full credential, step 1) to $138,212 (MA with a credential, step 31).
What does a new teacher earn at Oro Grande?
A new teacher with a full credential starts at $71,809 (PRELIM column, step 1). Teachers without a full credential start lower, at $68,218. Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 10.
How long does it take to reach the top of the Oro Grande pay scale?
On the MA column, where 49% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 31, where it reaches $138,212. Steps go up with years of service.
Is Oro Grande teacher pay high for California?
Oro Grande's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 407th of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 25th of 33 in San Bernardino County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $106,829 in San Bernardino County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in San Bernardino County
Sources for the Oro Grande figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- Oro Grande's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.