Hollister School District teacher salaries
Hollister School District is an elementary school district in San Benito County, with its district office in Hollister. A teacher with a full credential starts at $64,584. The largest group (44%) is on the BA+90 OR BA+75+MA column, which climbs to $124,951 by step 31.
Lowest
$62,534
BA before a full credential, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$92,341
- about the same as the San Benito County average
- $11,211 below California average
Highest
$124,951
BA+90 OR BA+75+MA with a credential, step 31
Hollister average
AveragesSan Benito County $92,802, California $103,552
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 268
- Starting salary
- $64,584
- BA with a credential, step 1
- Median salary
- $92,417
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 449th of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does Hollister pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
No
Hollister's average of $92,341 is below the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
Hollister ranks 449th of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 10 reporting districts in San Benito County
Hollister ranks 4th of 10, above the middle district.
Middle district: $75,556
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Experienced teachers joining Hollister can be placed as high as step 31.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. Hollister's columns run from BA to BA+90 OR BA+75+MA, 6 in all.
- Credentialed
- Holds a full California teaching credential, the state license to teach. Hollister's credentialed columns start at $64,584.
- Without full credential
- Teachers who don't yet hold a full credential. Hollister pays them on separate columns, starting at $62,534.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at Hollister?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$95,120
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $124,951 on step 31.
Hollister's full salary schedule, 2024-252
Shading shows where teachers actually sit. 37% of Hollister's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | BA | BA+30 | BA+45 OR BA+30+MA | BA+60 OR BA+45+MA | BA+75 OR BA+60+MA | BA+90 OR BA+75+MA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ||||||
| 2 | ||||||
| 3 | ||||||
| 4 | ||||||
| 5 | ||||||
| 6 | ||||||
| 7 | ||||||
| 8 | ||||||
| 9 | ||||||
| 10 | ||||||
| 11 | ||||||
| 12 | ||||||
| 13 | ||||||
| 14 to 15 | ||||||
| 16 to 17 | ||||||
| 18 | ||||||
| 19 | ||||||
| 20 to 21 | ||||||
| 22 | ||||||
| 23 | ||||||
| 24 | ||||||
| 25 | ||||||
| 26 | ||||||
| 27 | ||||||
| 28 | ||||||
| 29 | ||||||
| 30 | ||||||
| 31 |
Only BA+75 OR BA+60+MA, BA+90 OR BA+75+MA continue past step 12.
| Step | BA |
|---|---|
| 1 |
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 26
Bonuses, health cover and work days at Hollister
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planNot reported
- Master's degree bonusNot reported
- Doctorate bonusNot reported
- Bilingual teaching bonus$2,00945 full-time equivalents eligible
- National Board Certification bonusNot reported
- Special education bonus$4,00011 full-time equivalents eligible
- Summer school pay$50 an hour
- Work days a year185 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year1.5%
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 31
Questions about teacher pay at Hollister
How much do Hollister teachers make?
The average salary on Hollister's teacher schedule is $92,341 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $62,534 (BA before a full credential, step 1) to $124,951 (BA+90 OR BA+75+MA with a credential, step 31).
What does a new teacher earn at Hollister?
A new teacher with a full credential starts at $64,584 (BA column, step 1). Teachers without a full credential start lower, at $62,534. Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 31.
How long does it take to reach the top of the Hollister pay scale?
On the BA+90 OR BA+75+MA column, where 44% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 31, where it reaches $124,951. Steps go up with years of service.
Is Hollister teacher pay high for California?
Hollister's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 449th of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 4th of 10 in San Benito County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $92,802 in San Benito County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in San Benito County
Sources for the Hollister figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- Hollister's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.