Roseville City School District teacher salaries
Roseville City School District is an elementary school district in Placer County, with its district office in Roseville. A teacher with a full credential starts at $62,891. The largest group (75%) is on the BA+60 column, which climbs to $123,056 by step 18.
Lowest
$54,157
EMERG/ INTERN before a full credential, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$103,231
- about the same as the Placer County average
- about the same as the California average
Highest
$123,056
BA+60 with a credential, step 18
Roseville City average
AveragesPlacer County $102,887, California $103,552
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 624
- Starting salary
- $62,891
- BA with a credential, step 1
- Median salary
- $108,942
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 245th of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does Roseville City pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
Yes
Roseville City's average of $103,231 is above the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
Roseville City ranks 245th of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 14 reporting districts in Placer County
Roseville City ranks 5th of 14, above the middle district.
Middle district: $98,499
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Step 5 on Roseville City's BA column pays $62,895. Experienced teachers joining Roseville City can be placed as high as step 6.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. Roseville City's columns run from BA to BA+60, 5 in all.
- Credentialed
- Holds a full California teaching credential, the state license to teach. Roseville City's credentialed columns start at $62,891.
- Without full credential
- Teachers who don't yet hold a full credential. Roseville City pays them on separate columns, starting at $54,157.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at Roseville City?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$105,693
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $123,056 on step 18.
Roseville City's full salary schedule, 2024-252
Shading shows where teachers actually sit. 41% of Roseville City's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | BA | BA+15 | BA+30 | BA+45 | BA+60 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | |||||
| 2 | |||||
| 3 | |||||
| 4 | |||||
| 5 | |||||
| 6 | |||||
| 7 | |||||
| 8 | |||||
| 9 | |||||
| 10 | |||||
| 11 | |||||
| 12 | |||||
| 13 | |||||
| 14 | |||||
| 15 | |||||
| 16 | |||||
| 17 | |||||
| 18 |
| Step | EMERG/ INTERN |
|---|---|
| 1 | |
| 2 | |
| 3 |
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 186
Bonuses, health cover and work days at Roseville City
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planUp to $8,876paid by the district each year
- Master's degree bonus$1,572253 full-time equivalents eligible
- Doctorate bonus$1,572
- Bilingual teaching bonusNot reported
- National Board Certification bonusNot reported
- Special education bonus$2,395123 full-time equivalents eligible
- Summer school pay$35 an hour
- Work days a year189 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year1.07%
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 6
Questions about teacher pay at Roseville City
How much do Roseville City teachers make?
The average salary on Roseville City's teacher schedule is $103,231 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $54,157 (EMERG/ INTERN before a full credential, step 1) to $123,056 (BA+60 with a credential, step 18).
What does a new teacher earn at Roseville City?
A new teacher with a full credential starts at $62,891 (BA column, step 1). Teachers without a full credential start lower, at $54,157. Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 6.
How long does it take to reach the top of the Roseville City pay scale?
On the BA+60 column, where 75% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 18, where it reaches $123,056. Steps go up with years of service.
Does a master's degree raise pay at Roseville City?
Yes, in two ways. The college units from a master's move you to a higher column on the schedule, and Roseville City reports a master's bonus of $1,572 on top. For a doctorate it reports $1,572.
Is Roseville City teacher pay high for California?
Roseville City's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 245th of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 5th of 14 in Placer County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $102,887 in Placer County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in Placer County
Sources for the Roseville City figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- Roseville City's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.