Sulphur Springs Union School District teacher salaries
Sulphur Springs Union School District is an elementary school district in Los Angeles County, with its district office in Canyon Country. Pay starts at $53,664 on the first step. The largest group (42%) is on the BA+90 OR MA+60 column, which climbs to $109,942 by step 15.
Lowest
$53,664
BA TO 29, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$88,827
- $14,667 below Los Angeles County average
- $14,725 below California average
Highest
$109,942
BA+90 OR MA+60, step 15
Sulphur Springs Union average
AveragesLos Angeles County $103,494, California $103,552
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 262
- Starting salary
- $53,664
- BA TO 29, step 1
- Median salary
- $95,559
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 510th of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does Sulphur Springs Union pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
No
Sulphur Springs Union's average of $88,827 is below the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
Sulphur Springs Union ranks 510th of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 71 reporting districts in Los Angeles County
Sulphur Springs Union ranks 70th of 71, below the middle district.
Middle district: $103,471
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Step 5 on Sulphur Springs Union's BA TO 29 column pays $59,615. Experienced teachers joining Sulphur Springs Union can be placed as high as step 15.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. Sulphur Springs Union's columns run from BA TO 29 to BA+90 OR MA+60, 6 in all.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at Sulphur Springs Union?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$89,438
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $109,942 on step 15.
Sulphur Springs Union's full salary schedule, 2024-252
Shading shows where teachers actually sit. 48% of Sulphur Springs Union's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | BA TO 29 | BA+30 OR MA | BA+45 OR MA+15 | BA+60 OR MA+30 | BA+75 OR MA+45 | BA+90 OR MA+60 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ||||||
| 2 | ||||||
| 3 | ||||||
| 4 | ||||||
| 5 | ||||||
| 6 | ||||||
| 7 | ||||||
| 8 | ||||||
| 9 | ||||||
| 10 | ||||||
| 11 | ||||||
| 12 | ||||||
| 13 | ||||||
| 14 | ||||||
| 15 |
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 87
Bonuses, health cover and work days at Sulphur Springs Union
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planUp to $17,734paid by the district each year
- Master's degree bonus$1,500148 full-time equivalents eligible
- Doctorate bonusNot reported
- Bilingual teaching bonus$4,5002 full-time equivalents eligible
- National Board Certification bonusNot reported
- Special education bonus$2,00026 full-time equivalents eligible
- Summer school pay$51 an hour
- Work days a year186 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year1%
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 15
Questions about teacher pay at Sulphur Springs Union
How much do Sulphur Springs Union teachers make?
The average salary on Sulphur Springs Union's teacher schedule is $88,827 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $53,664 (BA TO 29, step 1) to $109,942 (BA+90 OR MA+60, step 15).
What does a new teacher earn at Sulphur Springs Union?
The schedule starts at $53,664 (BA TO 29, step 1). Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 15.
How long does it take to reach the top of the Sulphur Springs Union pay scale?
On the BA+90 OR MA+60 column, where 42% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 15, where it reaches $109,942. Steps go up with years of service.
Does a master's degree raise pay at Sulphur Springs Union?
Yes, in two ways. The college units from a master's move you to a higher column on the schedule, and Sulphur Springs Union reports a master's bonus of $1,500 on top.
Is Sulphur Springs Union teacher pay high for California?
Sulphur Springs Union's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 510th of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 70th of 71 in Los Angeles County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $103,494 in Los Angeles County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in Los Angeles County
Sources for the Sulphur Springs Union figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- Sulphur Springs Union's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.