Rowland Unified School District teacher salaries
Rowland Unified School District is a unified school district in Los Angeles County, with its district office in Rowland Heights. A teacher with a full credential starts at $49,010. The largest group (63%) is on the BA+75+MA OR MA+30 column, which climbs to $130,707 by step 27.
Lowest
$49,010
DSC with a credential, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$106,908
- $3,414 above Los Angeles County average
- $3,356 above California average
Highest
$130,707
BA+75+MA OR MA+30 with a credential, step 27
Rowland Unified average
AveragesLos Angeles County $103,494, California $103,552
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 640
- Starting salary
- $49,010
- DSC with a credential, step 1
- Median salary
- $114,986
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 180th of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does Rowland Unified pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
Yes
Rowland Unified's average of $106,908 is above the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
Rowland Unified ranks 180th of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 71 reporting districts in Los Angeles County
Rowland Unified ranks 26th of 71, above the middle district.
Middle district: $103,471
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Step 5 on Rowland Unified's DSC column pays $54,885. Experienced teachers joining Rowland Unified can be placed as high as step 21.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. Rowland Unified's columns run from DSC to BA+75+MA OR MA+30, 5 in all.
- Credentialed
- Holds a full California teaching credential, the state license to teach. Rowland Unified's credentialed columns start at $49,010.
- Without full credential
- Teachers who don't yet hold a full credential. Rowland Unified pays them on separate columns.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at Rowland Unified?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$104,985
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $130,707 on step 27.
Rowland Unified's full salary schedule, 2024-252
Shading shows where teachers actually sit. 48% of Rowland Unified's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | DSC | BA | BA+45 OR MA | BA+60+MA OR MA+15 | BA+75+MA OR MA+30 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | |||||
| 2 | |||||
| 3 | |||||
| 4 | |||||
| 5 | |||||
| 6 | |||||
| 7 | |||||
| 8 | |||||
| 9 | |||||
| 10 | |||||
| 11 | |||||
| 12 | |||||
| 13 | |||||
| 14 | |||||
| 15 | |||||
| 16 | |||||
| 17 | |||||
| 18 | |||||
| 19 | |||||
| 20 | |||||
| 21 | |||||
| 22 | |||||
| 23 | |||||
| 24 | |||||
| 25 | |||||
| 26 | |||||
| 27 |
Only BA+60+MA OR MA+15, BA+75+MA OR MA+30 continue past step 12.
| Step | BA |
|---|---|
| 1 to 12 |
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 83
Bonuses, health cover and work days at Rowland Unified
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planUp to $15,000paid by the district each year
- Master's degree bonusNot reported
- Doctorate bonus$2,23216 full-time equivalents eligible
- Bilingual teaching bonus$2,23246 full-time equivalents eligible
- National Board Certification bonusNot reported
- Special education bonus$2,232101 full-time equivalents eligible
- Summer school pay$66 an hour
- Work days a year185 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year0%can also mean not reported
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 21
Questions about teacher pay at Rowland Unified
How much do Rowland Unified teachers make?
The average salary on Rowland Unified's teacher schedule is $106,908 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $49,010 (DSC with a credential, step 1) to $130,707 (BA+75+MA OR MA+30 with a credential, step 27).
What does a new teacher earn at Rowland Unified?
A new teacher with a full credential starts at $49,010 (DSC column, step 1). Teachers without a full credential start lower, at $49,010. Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 21.
How long does it take to reach the top of the Rowland Unified pay scale?
On the BA+75+MA OR MA+30 column, where 63% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 27, where it reaches $130,707. Steps go up with years of service.
Is Rowland Unified teacher pay high for California?
Rowland Unified's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 180th of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 26th of 71 in Los Angeles County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $103,494 in Los Angeles County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in Los Angeles County
Sources for the Rowland Unified figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- Rowland Unified's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.