Hawthorne School District teacher salaries
Hawthorne School District is an elementary school district in Los Angeles County, with its district office in Hawthorne. A teacher with a full credential starts at $65,389. The largest group (66%) is on the BA+60+MA column, which climbs to $132,630 by step 21.
Lowest
$62,726
EMERG before a full credential, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$115,512
- $12,018 above Los Angeles County average
- $11,960 above California average
Highest
$132,630
BA+60+MA with a credential, step 21
Hawthorne average
AveragesLos Angeles County $103,494, California $103,552
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 391
- Starting salary
- $65,389
- BA<30 with a credential, step 1
- Median salary
- $122,042
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 84th of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does Hawthorne pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
Yes
Hawthorne's average of $115,512 is above the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
Hawthorne ranks 84th of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 71 reporting districts in Los Angeles County
Hawthorne ranks 13th of 71, above the middle district.
Middle district: $103,471
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Step 5 on Hawthorne's BA<30 column pays $77,228. Experienced teachers joining Hawthorne can be placed as high as step 11.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. Hawthorne's columns run from BA<30 to BA+60+MA, 4 in all.
- Credentialed
- Holds a full California teaching credential, the state license to teach. Hawthorne's credentialed columns start at $65,389.
- Without full credential
- Teachers who don't yet hold a full credential. Hawthorne pays them on separate columns, starting at $62,726.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at Hawthorne?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$107,723
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $132,630 on step 21.
Hawthorne's full salary schedule, 2024-252
Shading shows where teachers actually sit. 66% of Hawthorne's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | BA<30 | BA+30 OR MA | BA+45+MA | BA+60+MA |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ||||
| 2 | ||||
| 3 | ||||
| 4 | ||||
| 5 | ||||
| 6 | ||||
| 7 | ||||
| 8 | ||||
| 9 | ||||
| 10 | ||||
| 11 | ||||
| 12 | ||||
| 13 | ||||
| 14 to 15 | ||||
| 16 | ||||
| 17 | ||||
| 18 | ||||
| 19 | ||||
| 20 | ||||
| 21 |
| Step | EMERG |
|---|---|
| 1 | |
| 2 | |
| 3 | |
| 4 | |
| 5 | |
| 6 | |
| 7 | |
| 8 | |
| 9 | |
| 10 to 15 | |
| 16 to 19 | |
| 20 | |
| 21 |
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 121
Bonuses, health cover and work days at Hawthorne
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planNot reported
- Master's degree bonusNot reported
- Doctorate bonus$2,00012 full-time equivalents eligible
- Bilingual teaching bonus$2,75029 full-time equivalents eligible
- National Board Certification bonusNot reported
- Special education bonus$2,50021 full-time equivalents eligible
- Summer school payNot reported
- Work days a year181 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year2%
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 11
Questions about teacher pay at Hawthorne
How much do Hawthorne teachers make?
The average salary on Hawthorne's teacher schedule is $115,512 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $62,726 (EMERG before a full credential, step 1) to $132,630 (BA+60+MA with a credential, step 21).
What does a new teacher earn at Hawthorne?
A new teacher with a full credential starts at $65,389 (BA<30 column, step 1). Teachers without a full credential start lower, at $62,726. Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 11.
How long does it take to reach the top of the Hawthorne pay scale?
On the BA+60+MA column, where 66% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 21, where it reaches $132,630. Steps go up with years of service.
Is Hawthorne teacher pay high for California?
Hawthorne's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 84th of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 13th of 71 in Los Angeles County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $103,494 in Los Angeles County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in Los Angeles County
Sources for the Hawthorne figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- Hawthorne's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.