Susanville Elementary School District teacher salaries
Susanville Elementary School District is an elementary school district in Lassen County, with its district office in Susanville. A teacher with a full credential starts at $51,125. The largest group (57%) is on the BA+60 OR MA column, which climbs to $95,106 by step 20.
Lowest
$51,125
BA before a full credential, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$69,074
- $5,592 below Lassen County average
- $34,478 below California average
Highest
$95,106
BA+60 OR MA with a credential, step 20
Susanville Elementary average
Lassen County average$74,666
California average$103,552above the highest salary here
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 49
- Starting salary
- $51,125
- BA with a credential, step 1
- Median salary
- $66,706
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 763rd of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does Susanville Elementary pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
No
Susanville Elementary's average of $69,074 is below the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
Susanville Elementary ranks 763rd of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 9 reporting districts in Lassen County
Susanville Elementary ranks 6th of 9, below the middle district.
Middle district: $70,505
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Step 5 on Susanville Elementary's BA column pays $57,542. Experienced teachers joining Susanville Elementary can be placed as high as step 13.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. Susanville Elementary's columns run from BA to BA+60 OR MA, 3 in all.
- Credentialed
- Holds a full California teaching credential, the state license to teach. Susanville Elementary's credentialed columns start at $51,125.
- Without full credential
- Teachers who don't yet hold a full credential. Susanville Elementary pays them on separate columns, starting at $51,125.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at Susanville Elementary?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$70,768
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $95,106 on step 20.
Susanville Elementary's full salary schedule, 2024-252
Shading shows where teachers actually sit. 22% of Susanville Elementary's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | BA | BA+45 | BA+60 OR MA |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | |||
| 2 | |||
| 3 | |||
| 4 | |||
| 5 | |||
| 6 | |||
| 7 | |||
| 8 | |||
| 9 | |||
| 10 | |||
| 11 | |||
| 12 | |||
| 13 | |||
| 14 | |||
| 15 | |||
| 16 | |||
| 17 | |||
| 18 | |||
| 19 | |||
| 20 |
| Step | BA |
|---|---|
| 1 to 20 |
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 5
Bonuses, health cover and work days at Susanville Elementary
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planUp to $26,830paid by the district each year
- Master's degree bonus$1,06011 full-time equivalents eligible
- Doctorate bonusNot reported
- Bilingual teaching bonusNot reported
- National Board Certification bonusNot reported
- Special education bonus$2,0005 full-time equivalents eligible
- Summer school payNot reported
- Work days a year185 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year2%
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 13
Questions about teacher pay at Susanville Elementary
How much do Susanville Elementary teachers make?
The average salary on Susanville Elementary's teacher schedule is $69,074 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $51,125 (BA before a full credential, step 1) to $95,106 (BA+60 OR MA with a credential, step 20).
What does a new teacher earn at Susanville Elementary?
A new teacher with a full credential starts at $51,125 (BA column, step 1). Teachers without a full credential start lower, at $51,125. Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 13.
How long does it take to reach the top of the Susanville Elementary pay scale?
On the BA+60 OR MA column, where 57% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 20, where it reaches $95,106. Steps go up with years of service.
Does a master's degree raise pay at Susanville Elementary?
Yes, in two ways. The college units from a master's move you to a higher column on the schedule, and Susanville Elementary reports a master's bonus of $1,060 on top.
Is Susanville Elementary teacher pay high for California?
Susanville Elementary's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 763rd of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 6th of 9 in Lassen County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $74,666 in Lassen County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in Lassen County
Sources for the Susanville Elementary figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- Susanville Elementary's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.