Pioneer Union Elementary School District teacher salaries
Pioneer Union Elementary School District is an elementary school district in Kings County, with its district office in Hanford. A teacher with a full credential starts at $65,410. The largest group (42%) is on the BA+75 column, which climbs to $117,550 by step 30.
Lowest
$60,475
BA before a full credential, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$98,029
- $1,454 below Kings County average
- $5,523 below California average
Highest
$117,550
BA+75 with a credential, step 30
Pioneer Union Elementary average
AveragesKings County $99,483, California $103,552
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 76
- Starting salary
- $65,410
- BA with a credential, step 1
- Median salary
- $100,324
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 328th of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does Pioneer Union Elementary pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
Yes
Pioneer Union Elementary's average of $98,029 is above the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
Pioneer Union Elementary ranks 328th of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 11 reporting districts in Kings County
Pioneer Union Elementary ranks 4th of 11, above the middle district.
Middle district: $96,784
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Step 5 on Pioneer Union Elementary's BA column pays $76,400. Experienced teachers joining Pioneer Union Elementary can be placed as high as step 12.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. Pioneer Union Elementary's columns run from BA to BA+75, 4 in all.
- Credentialed
- Holds a full California teaching credential, the state license to teach. Pioneer Union Elementary's credentialed columns start at $65,410.
- Without full credential
- Teachers who don't yet hold a full credential. Pioneer Union Elementary pays them on separate columns, starting at $60,475.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at Pioneer Union Elementary?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$104,307
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $117,550 on step 30.
Pioneer Union Elementary's full salary schedule, 2024-252
Shading shows where teachers actually sit. 24% of Pioneer Union Elementary's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | BA | BA+45 | BA+60 | BA+75 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ||||
| 2 | ||||
| 3 | ||||
| 4 | ||||
| 5 | ||||
| 6 | ||||
| 7 | ||||
| 8 | ||||
| 9 | ||||
| 10 | ||||
| 11 | ||||
| 12 | ||||
| 13 to 14 | ||||
| 15 to 19 | ||||
| 20 to 24 | ||||
| 25 to 29 | ||||
| 30 |
Only BA+60, BA+75 continue past step 12.
| Step | BA | BA+15 |
|---|---|---|
| 1 to 12 |
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 14
Bonuses, health cover and work days at Pioneer Union Elementary
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planUp to $15,280paid by the district each year
- Master's degree bonus$1,500
- Doctorate bonusNot reported
- Bilingual teaching bonusNot reported
- National Board Certification bonusNot reported
- Special education bonus$2,500
- Summer school pay$60 an hour
- Work days a year187 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year1.5%
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 12
Questions about teacher pay at Pioneer Union Elementary
How much do Pioneer Union Elementary teachers make?
The average salary on Pioneer Union Elementary's teacher schedule is $98,029 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $60,475 (BA before a full credential, step 1) to $117,550 (BA+75 with a credential, step 30).
What does a new teacher earn at Pioneer Union Elementary?
A new teacher with a full credential starts at $65,410 (BA column, step 1). Teachers without a full credential start lower, at $60,475. Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 12.
How long does it take to reach the top of the Pioneer Union Elementary pay scale?
On the BA+75 column, where 42% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 30, where it reaches $117,550. Steps go up with years of service.
Does a master's degree raise pay at Pioneer Union Elementary?
Yes, in two ways. The college units from a master's move you to a higher column on the schedule, and Pioneer Union Elementary reports a master's bonus of $1,500 on top.
Is Pioneer Union Elementary teacher pay high for California?
Pioneer Union Elementary's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 328th of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 4th of 11 in Kings County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $99,483 in Kings County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in Kings County
Sources for the Pioneer Union Elementary figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- Pioneer Union Elementary's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.