Richland Union Elementary School District teacher salaries
Richland Union Elementary School District is an elementary school district in Kern County, with its district office in Shafter. A teacher with a full credential starts at $56,378. The largest group (55%) is on the BA+75 column, which climbs to $113,699 by step 40.
Lowest
$53,408
BA/ INTERN before a full credential, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$91,257
- $721 above Kern County average
- $12,295 below California average
Highest
$113,699
BA+75 with a credential, step 40
Richland Union Elementary average
Kern County average$90,536
California average$103,552
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 154
- Starting salary
- $56,378
- BA+30 with a credential, step 1
- Median salary
- $94,888
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 473rd of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does Richland Union Elementary pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
No
Richland Union Elementary's average of $91,257 is below the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
Richland Union Elementary ranks 473rd of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 37 reporting districts in Kern County
Richland Union Elementary ranks 11th of 37, above the middle district.
Middle district: $83,787
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Step 5 on Richland Union Elementary's BA+30 column pays $68,034. Experienced teachers joining Richland Union Elementary can be placed as high as step 11.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. Richland Union Elementary's columns run from BA+30 to BA+75, 4 in all.
- Credentialed
- Holds a full California teaching credential, the state license to teach. Richland Union Elementary's credentialed columns start at $56,378.
- Without full credential
- Teachers who don't yet hold a full credential. Richland Union Elementary pays them on separate columns, starting at $53,408.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at Richland Union Elementary?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$91,340
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $113,699 on step 40.
Richland Union Elementary's full salary schedule, 2024-252
Shading shows where teachers actually sit. 45% of Richland Union Elementary's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | BA+30 | BA+45 | BA+60 | BA+75 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ||||
| 2 | ||||
| 3 | ||||
| 4 | ||||
| 5 | ||||
| 6 | ||||
| 7 | ||||
| 8 | ||||
| 9 | ||||
| 10 | ||||
| 11 | ||||
| 12 | ||||
| 13 | ||||
| 14 | ||||
| 15 | ||||
| 16 | ||||
| 17 | ||||
| 18 | ||||
| 19 | ||||
| 20 | ||||
| 21 | ||||
| 22 | ||||
| 23 | ||||
| 24 | ||||
| 25 | ||||
| 26 | ||||
| 27 | ||||
| 28 | ||||
| 29 | ||||
| 30 | ||||
| 31 | ||||
| 32 | ||||
| 33 | ||||
| 34 | ||||
| 35 | ||||
| 36 | ||||
| 37 | ||||
| 38 | ||||
| 39 | ||||
| 40 |
Only BA+75 continues past step 37.
| Step | BA/ INTERN |
|---|---|
| 1 | |
| 2 | |
| 3 | |
| 4 | |
| 5 | |
| 6 |
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 11
Bonuses, health cover and work days at Richland Union Elementary
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planUp to $19,176paid by the district each year
- Master's degree bonusNot reported
- Doctorate bonusNot reported
- Bilingual teaching bonusNot reported
- National Board Certification bonusNot reported
- Special education bonusNot reported
- Summer school payNot reported
- Work days a year183 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year0%can also mean not reported
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 11
Questions about teacher pay at Richland Union Elementary
How much do Richland Union Elementary teachers make?
The average salary on Richland Union Elementary's teacher schedule is $91,257 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $53,408 (BA/ INTERN before a full credential, step 1) to $113,699 (BA+75 with a credential, step 40).
What does a new teacher earn at Richland Union Elementary?
A new teacher with a full credential starts at $56,378 (BA+30 column, step 1). Teachers without a full credential start lower, at $53,408. Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 11.
How long does it take to reach the top of the Richland Union Elementary pay scale?
On the BA+75 column, where 55% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 40, where it reaches $113,699. Steps go up with years of service.
Is Richland Union Elementary teacher pay high for California?
Richland Union Elementary's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 473rd of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 11th of 37 in Kern County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $90,536 in Kern County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in Kern County
Sources for the Richland Union Elementary figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- Richland Union Elementary's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.