Orland Joint Unified School District teacher salaries
Orland Joint Unified School District is a unified school district in Glenn County, with its district office in Orland. Pay starts at $59,986 on the first step. The largest group (70%) is on the BA+60 column, which climbs to $119,852 by step 29.
Lowest
$59,986
BA+30, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$86,702
- $1,238 above Glenn County average
- $16,850 below California average
Highest
$119,852
BA+60, step 29
Orland Joint Unified average
Glenn County average$85,464
California average$103,552
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 138
- Starting salary
- $59,986
- BA+30, step 1
- Median salary
- $81,456
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 541st of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does Orland Joint Unified pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
No
Orland Joint Unified's average of $86,702 is below the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
Orland Joint Unified ranks 541st of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 8 reporting districts in Glenn County
Orland Joint Unified ranks 2nd of 8, above the middle district.
Middle district: $76,245
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Step 5 on Orland Joint Unified's BA+30 column pays $63,985. Experienced teachers joining Orland Joint Unified can be placed as high as step 30.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. Orland Joint Unified's columns run from BA+30 to BA+60, 3 in all.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at Orland Joint Unified?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$81,456
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $119,852 on step 29.
Orland Joint Unified's full salary schedule, 2024-252
Shading shows where teachers actually sit. 37% of Orland Joint Unified's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | BA+30 | BA+45 | BA+60 |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | |||
| 2 | |||
| 3 | |||
| 4 | |||
| 5 | |||
| 6 | |||
| 7 | |||
| 8 | |||
| 9 | |||
| 10 | |||
| 11 | |||
| 12 | |||
| 13 | |||
| 14 | |||
| 15 | |||
| 16 | |||
| 17 | |||
| 18 | |||
| 19 | |||
| 20 | |||
| 21 | |||
| 22 | |||
| 23 | |||
| 24 | |||
| 25 to 26 | |||
| 27 to 28 | |||
| 29 | |||
| 30 |
Only BA+60 continues past step 12.
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 7
Bonuses, health cover and work days at Orland Joint Unified
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planUp to $20,272paid by the district each year
- Master's degree bonus$1,21025 full-time equivalents eligible
- Doctorate bonus$1,466
- Bilingual teaching bonusNot reported
- National Board Certification bonusNot reported
- Special education bonus$58613 full-time equivalents eligible
- Summer school pay$48 an hour
- Work days a year183 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year3.02%
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 30
Questions about teacher pay at Orland Joint Unified
How much do Orland Joint Unified teachers make?
The average salary on Orland Joint Unified's teacher schedule is $86,702 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $59,986 (BA+30, step 1) to $119,852 (BA+60, step 29).
What does a new teacher earn at Orland Joint Unified?
The schedule starts at $59,986 (BA+30, step 1). Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 30.
How long does it take to reach the top of the Orland Joint Unified pay scale?
On the BA+60 column, where 70% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 29, where it reaches $119,852. Steps go up with years of service.
Does a master's degree raise pay at Orland Joint Unified?
Yes, in two ways. The college units from a master's move you to a higher column on the schedule, and Orland Joint Unified reports a master's bonus of $1,210 on top. For a doctorate it reports $1,466.
Is Orland Joint Unified teacher pay high for California?
Orland Joint Unified's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 541st of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 2nd of 8 in Glenn County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $85,464 in Glenn County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in Glenn County
Sources for the Orland Joint Unified figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- Orland Joint Unified's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.