El Dorado Union High School District teacher salaries
El Dorado Union High School District is a high school district in El Dorado County, with its district office in Placerville. A teacher with a full credential starts at $63,155. The largest group (85%) is on the BA+66 OR BA+54+MA column, which climbs to $126,306 by step 24.
Lowest
$60,627
BA+EMERG before a full credential, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$101,662
- $8,285 above El Dorado County average
- $1,890 below California average
Highest
$126,306
BA+66 OR BA+54+MA with a credential, step 24
El Dorado Union High average
AveragesEl Dorado County $93,377, California $103,552
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 281
- Starting salary
- $63,155
- BA with a credential, step 1
- Median salary
- $101,551
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 269th of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does El Dorado Union High pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
Yes
El Dorado Union High's average of $101,662 is above the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
El Dorado Union High ranks 269th of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 11 reporting districts in El Dorado County
El Dorado Union High ranks 1st of 11, above the middle district.
Middle district: $86,661
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Step 5 on El Dorado Union High's BA column pays $69,091. Experienced teachers joining El Dorado Union High can be placed as high as step 24.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. El Dorado Union High's columns run from BA to BA+66 OR BA+54+MA, 4 in all.
- Credentialed
- Holds a full California teaching credential, the state license to teach. El Dorado Union High's credentialed columns start at $63,155.
- Without full credential
- Teachers who don't yet hold a full credential. El Dorado Union High pays them on separate columns, starting at $60,627.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at El Dorado Union High?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$92,046
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $126,306 on step 24.
El Dorado Union High's full salary schedule, 2024-252
Shading shows where teachers actually sit. 50% of El Dorado Union High's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | BA | BA+42 OR MA | BA+54 OR BA+42+MA | BA+66 OR BA+54+MA |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ||||
| 2 | ||||
| 3 | ||||
| 4 | ||||
| 5 | ||||
| 6 | ||||
| 7 | ||||
| 8 | ||||
| 9 | ||||
| 10 | ||||
| 11 | ||||
| 12 | ||||
| 13 | ||||
| 14 | ||||
| 15 | ||||
| 16 | ||||
| 17 | ||||
| 18 | ||||
| 19 | ||||
| 20 | ||||
| 21 | ||||
| 22 | ||||
| 23 | ||||
| 24 |
| Step | BA+EMERG |
|---|---|
| 1 | |
| 2 to 3 | |
| 4 to 24 |
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 58
Bonuses, health cover and work days at El Dorado Union High
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planUp to $17,743paid by the district each year
- Master's degree bonusNot reported
- Doctorate bonusNot reported
- Bilingual teaching bonusNot reported
- National Board Certification bonusNot reported
- Special education bonusNot reported
- Summer school pay$48 an hour
- Work days a year183 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year1.5%
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 24
Questions about teacher pay at El Dorado Union High
How much do El Dorado Union High teachers make?
The average salary on El Dorado Union High's teacher schedule is $101,662 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $60,627 (BA+EMERG before a full credential, step 1) to $126,306 (BA+66 OR BA+54+MA with a credential, step 24).
What does a new teacher earn at El Dorado Union High?
A new teacher with a full credential starts at $63,155 (BA column, step 1). Teachers without a full credential start lower, at $60,627. Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 24.
How long does it take to reach the top of the El Dorado Union High pay scale?
On the BA+66 OR BA+54+MA column, where 85% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 24, where it reaches $126,306. Steps go up with years of service.
Is El Dorado Union High teacher pay high for California?
El Dorado Union High's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 269th of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 1st of 11 in El Dorado County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $93,377 in El Dorado County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in El Dorado County
Sources for the El Dorado Union High figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- El Dorado Union High's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.