Liberty Union High School District teacher salaries
Liberty Union High School District is a high school district in Contra Costa County, with its district office in Brentwood. Pay starts at $65,355 on the first step. The largest group (20%) is on the BA+75 OR BA+60+MA column, which climbs to $113,100 by step 30.
Lowest
$65,355
BA, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$106,211
- $5,714 above Contra Costa County average
- $2,659 above California average
Highest
$127,270
BA+90 OR BA+75+MA, step 30
Liberty Union High average
AveragesContra Costa County $100,497, California $103,552
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 382
- Starting salary
- $65,355
- BA, step 1
- Median salary
- $108,038
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 191st of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does Liberty Union High pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
Yes
Liberty Union High's average of $106,211 is above the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
Liberty Union High ranks 191st of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 18 reporting districts in Contra Costa County
Liberty Union High ranks 4th of 18, above the middle district.
Middle district: $99,272
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Step 5 on Liberty Union High's BA column pays $72,106. Experienced teachers joining Liberty Union High can be placed as high as step 30.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. Liberty Union High's columns run from BA to BA+90 OR BA+75+MA, 10 in all.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at Liberty Union High?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$101,279
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $113,100 on step 30.
Liberty Union High's full salary schedule, 2024-252
Shading shows where teachers actually sit. 55% of Liberty Union High's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | BA | BA+30 | BA+45 OR BA+30+MA | BA+60 OR BA+45+MA | BA+75 OR BA+60+MA | BA+78 OR BA+63+MA | BA+81 OR BA+66+MA | BA+84 OR BA+69+MA | BA+87 OR BA+72+MA | BA+90 OR BA+75+MA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ||||||||||
| 2 | ||||||||||
| 3 | ||||||||||
| 4 | ||||||||||
| 5 | ||||||||||
| 6 | ||||||||||
| 7 | ||||||||||
| 8 | ||||||||||
| 9 | ||||||||||
| 10 | ||||||||||
| 11 | ||||||||||
| 12 | ||||||||||
| 13 | ||||||||||
| 14 | ||||||||||
| 15 | ||||||||||
| 16 | ||||||||||
| 17 | ||||||||||
| 18 | ||||||||||
| 19 | ||||||||||
| 20 | ||||||||||
| 21 | ||||||||||
| 22 | ||||||||||
| 23 | ||||||||||
| 24 | ||||||||||
| 25 | ||||||||||
| 26 to 27 | ||||||||||
| 28 | ||||||||||
| 29 | ||||||||||
| 30 |
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 27
Bonuses, health cover and work days at Liberty Union High
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planUp to $31,255paid by the district each year
- Master's degree bonus$2,000172 full-time equivalents eligible
- Doctorate bonus$3,0003 full-time equivalents eligible
- Bilingual teaching bonusNot reported
- National Board Certification bonus$3,0001 full-time equivalents eligible
- Special education bonusNot reported
- Summer school pay$40 an hour
- Work days a year185 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year1.25%
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 30
Questions about teacher pay at Liberty Union High
How much do Liberty Union High teachers make?
The average salary on Liberty Union High's teacher schedule is $106,211 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $65,355 (BA, step 1) to $127,270 (BA+90 OR BA+75+MA, step 30).
What does a new teacher earn at Liberty Union High?
The schedule starts at $65,355 (BA, step 1). Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 30.
How long does it take to reach the top of the Liberty Union High pay scale?
On the BA+75 OR BA+60+MA column, where 20% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 30, where it reaches $113,100. Steps go up with years of service.
Does a master's degree raise pay at Liberty Union High?
Yes, in two ways. The college units from a master's move you to a higher column on the schedule, and Liberty Union High reports a master's bonus of $2,000 on top. For a doctorate it reports $3,000.
Is Liberty Union High teacher pay high for California?
Liberty Union High's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 191st of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 4th of 18 in Contra Costa County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $100,497 in Contra Costa County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in Contra Costa County
Sources for the Liberty Union High figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- Liberty Union High's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.