Oroville City Elementary School District teacher salaries
Oroville City Elementary School District is an elementary school district in Butte County, with its district office in Oroville. Pay starts at $59,796 on the first step. The largest group (63%) is on the BA+60 column, which climbs to $114,343 by step 30.
Lowest
$59,796
BA+30, step 1
Average salary on the teacher schedule1
$88,083
- about the same as the Butte County average
- $15,469 below California average
Highest
$114,343
BA+60, step 30
Oroville City Elementary average
Butte County average$88,229
California average$103,552
- Full-time equivalents on the schedule
- 131
- Starting salary
- $59,796
- BA+30, step 1
- Median salary
- $85,698
- Half earn more, half earn less
- Average pay rank in California
- 515th of 828 reporting
- of 828 reporting
Does Oroville City Elementary pay teachers more than the median California district?
Line up all 828 reporting California districts from the lowest average salary to the highest. The one in the middle is the median district: half the districts pay a lower average, half pay a higher one. A median isn't pulled up or down by a few unusually high- or low-paying districts, so it shows what a typical district pays.
No
Oroville City Elementary's average of $88,083 is below the middle California district's $94,573.
All 828 reporting districts in California
Oroville City Elementary ranks 515th of 828.
Middle district: $94,573
The 13 reporting districts in Butte County
Oroville City Elementary ranks 8th of 13, below the middle district.
Middle district: $90,738
Each bar counts the districts whose average salary falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the median district.
What BA+98, steps and credentials mean
Teacher pay in California is set by a grid. Two things place you on it: how long you've taught and how much college you've done.
- Step
- Steps go up with years of service. Step 5 on Oroville City Elementary's BA+30 column pays $70,168. Experienced teachers joining Oroville City Elementary can be placed as high as step 6.
- Column, such as BA+98
- Your bachelor's degree (BA) plus the college semester units you've completed since. BA+98 means a bachelor's plus 98 more units. Oroville City Elementary's columns run from BA+30 to BA+60, 3 in all.
How fast does a teacher's salary grow at Oroville City Elementary?
Pick a column and a step to see the salary, and how far it is from the top.
$94,853
a year at step 10. This column tops out at $114,343 on step 30.
Oroville City Elementary's full salary schedule, 2024-252
Shading shows where teachers actually sit. 31% of Oroville City Elementary's full-time equivalents are on step 15 or higher.
| Step | BA+30 | BA+45 | BA+60 |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | |||
| 2 | |||
| 3 | |||
| 4 | |||
| 5 | |||
| 6 | |||
| 7 | |||
| 8 | |||
| 9 | |||
| 10 | |||
| 11 | |||
| 12 | |||
| 13 | |||
| 14 | |||
| 15 | |||
| 16 | |||
| 17 | |||
| 18 | |||
| 19 | |||
| 20 | |||
| 21 | |||
| 22 | |||
| 23 | |||
| 24 | |||
| 25 | |||
| 26 | |||
| 27 | |||
| 28 | |||
| 29 | |||
| 30 to 40 |
Swipe the table sideways for more columns.
Tap any salary to see how many full-time equivalents are paid it and follow it on the chart above.
- 5+
- 7
Bonuses, health cover and work days at Oroville City Elementary
Bonuses are paid on top of the schedule, in the amounts the district reported.2 Teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.3 Extra pay for coaching, clubs and similar duties isn't part of this report.
- Health insurance, family planUp to $14,196paid by the district each year
- Master's degree bonus$80024 full-time equivalents eligible
- Doctorate bonusNot reported
- Bilingual teaching bonus$300
- National Board Certification bonusNot reported
- Special education bonus$80015 full-time equivalents eligible
- Summer school payNot reported
- Work days a year184 days180 of them with students
- Schedule raise on last year0%can also mean not reported
- Highest starting step for experienced hiresStep 6
Questions about teacher pay at Oroville City Elementary
How much do Oroville City Elementary teachers make?
The average salary on Oroville City Elementary's teacher schedule is $88,083 a year (2024-25). The salary schedule runs from $59,796 (BA+30, step 1) to $114,343 (BA+60, step 30).
What does a new teacher earn at Oroville City Elementary?
The schedule starts at $59,796 (BA+30, step 1). Teachers who bring experience from another district can start as high as step 6.
How long does it take to reach the top of the Oroville City Elementary pay scale?
On the BA+60 column, where 63% of full-time equivalents are paid, pay keeps rising until step 30, where it reaches $114,343. Steps go up with years of service.
Does a master's degree raise pay at Oroville City Elementary?
Yes, in two ways. The college units from a master's move you to a higher column on the schedule, and Oroville City Elementary reports a master's bonus of $800 on top.
Is Oroville City Elementary teacher pay high for California?
Oroville City Elementary's average salary on the teacher schedule ranks 515th of the 828 California school districts and county offices of education that reported and 8th of 13 in Butte County. Across all of them, the average salary on teacher schedules is $103,552 statewide and $88,229 in Butte County.
Keep exploring teacher pay in Butte County
Sources for the Oroville City Elementary figures
Salaries are the annual amounts on the district's certificated salary schedule. Following the state's definitions, they leave out extended-year pay, bonuses and extra-curricular pay such as coaching. Counts are full-time equivalents, so two half-time teachers count as one, and they can include counselors, nurses and librarians paid on the same schedule. County averages, ranks and percentages are our own arithmetic on these figures; our statewide average matches the state's published $103,552.
- California Department of Education, Selected Certificated Salaries and Related Statistics, 2024-25, Table I: average salary paid, raise on last year, highest starting step. The median salary is our own calculation from source 2.
- Oroville City Elementary's report to the California Department of Education, Form J-90 database, 2024-25: salary schedule, full-time equivalents per cell, bonuses, health contributions, work days.
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #17D: Exemption for Professional Employees Under the FLSA: teachers are exempt from federal overtime pay.